This is the "Home" page of the "9/11 and American Foreign Policy HIUS 4501-9" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

9/11 and American Foreign Policy HIUS 4501-9  

Last Updated: Jan 7, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/9-11 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching Virgo

                                                          Virgo Search Screen
                                                                  

                      Select "Catalog Only" and search:  "defense contracts" private

          Catalog Advanced Search:   Subject = United States Russia Foreign Relations  Year Published =2001-2012


Use the Journal Finder tab at the top of the library home page, or the bottom of the Virgo search screen, to determine our online access and to search individual journal titles.

                                            

  • Virgo does not use Boolean connectors, such as and, or between terms.
  • Put a phrase within quotation marks
  • Automatically does stemming of search terms (view, viewer, viewers, viewing)
  • You can further refine search results by using the limiters on the left of the search results screen. For example, clicking on "Special Collections" under "Library" will narrow your results to materials held in Special Collections.
  • Be sure you click on "Start Over" to perform a new search
 

Finding Journal & Newspaper Articles

A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .  Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/

 

Academic Search Complete A general database of articles from a variety of scholarly journals, popular magazines, and some newspapers. Includes some speeches and interviews.  Years of coverage varies according to title, but some publications are covered back to the late 19th century.

                                 Search:    "Condoleezza Rice"  AND "September 11" AND "foreign policy"

               To search for speeches:  Rice, Condoleezza  = AU author AND terror*   Document Type = speech

          
To search for interviews: Powell, Colin = PE People AND "weapons of mass destruction" Document Type =
interview


America History & Life  Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.

                                 Search:  Rumsfeld AND "military policy"
  
            

 JSTOR  Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

               Advanced Search:  Egypt AND "Bush administration"    Type = article
              
Date range = From 2001 to 2012    Discipline =
Middle East Studies; Political Science


PAIS, 1915-present Useful for finding journal articles, book citations, government publications, and reports issued by public and private organizations in the areas of political science and public policy.

                                          Search:   "Iraq War" and causes

LexisNexis Academic  offers access to a variety of news sources, including newspapers, magazines, television and radio broadcast transcripts, etc.  Years of coverage varies by title, usually with nothing prior to the early 1980's.

                                       Search:  Defense "private contractors"
                     
                  Search within results = oversight 
                                                                                    

ProQuest Historical Newspapers  Searchable full text backfiles of the New York Times (1851-2006), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), Washington Post (1877-1992), and Chicago Defender (1910-1975).

              Advanced Search:  Search NY Times: "weapons of mass destruction" AND Iraq  Date = 2001-2003         

 

Foreign Policy Primary Source Documents

 A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .  Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/


Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) , 1932-present. Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and diplomacy.  Contains documents from the departments of State and Defense, the National Security Council, CIA, presidential libraries, etc.  This online version from the Department of State includes many volumes from the Truman through the Ford administrations. The print volumes are in Government Information Resources, Alderman 3rd floor.

Digital National Security Archive  contains declassified documents used by the U.S. government in conducting foreign policy. The materials are obtained through the Freedom of Information Act.  Several collections in this database are  related to topics in this class: US Intelligence and Weapons of Mass Destruction; Terrorism and US Policy; US Intelligence Community After 9/11.etc.

                      Search Documents = counterterrorism
                      Collections = Terrorism and US Policy, 1968-2002;
US Intelligence Community After  9/11 


Homeland Security Digital Library
  Database provided by the Homeland Security Agency. Find articles, government documents, press briefings, statements by government officials, research papers, and books on all aspects of homeland security, most with links to online full text.

  

Department of State  See Media Center for daily press briefings, press releases, remarks and testimony by senior officials, etc.

Central Intelligence Agency See News & Information for press releases and statements, speeches and testimony, CIA and the War on Terrorism, etc.  Also see Library for agency publications, Kent Center for Intelligence Analysis, etc

 

Additional Resources

A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ .  Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/

ProQuest Congressional  provides mostly full-text publications from the U.S. Congress, including testimony from Congressional hearings, legislative histories of laws, reports to Congress, etc.

                Search:  Iraq AND reconstruction     Date is between = Jan 1, 2003 and Dec 31, 2006

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online provides working papers from research institutes, occasional papers from NGO's, foundation-funded research reports, proceedings from conferences, books, journal articles, and policy briefs.

                                  Search:  "American foreign policy" "post-9/11"

Book Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences This page is maintained by library staff to help you find book reviews in the social sciences and humanities.  Another good source is Academic Search Complete

                         Search: Ti Title = Descent into Chaos     Document Type = Book Review 

Subject Librarian

Gary Treadway, Librarian for Politics and History
Contact Info
Alderman Library 434-924-4982
Send Email
 

Off-Grounds Access

Most databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information.


UVa Library     |     UVa Library MOBILE    |    Off Grounds Access     |     ITC Help Desk     |     Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip