RESEARCH GUIDE FOR FRENCH STUDIES AT UVA
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
- Encyclopedias & General Sources
[Concise overviews on a wide variety of topics] - Readers, Companions, & Handbooks
[can assist with developing topic's comprehension] - French Language Resources
[acquisition of a language ]
- ARTICLES (How to find): [Searching in
databases for articles in periodicals, edited books, etc.] - BOOKS (How to identify & locate)
[How can you find out if a book exists on your topic?] - eBOOKS (How to find)
[Commercial & Open Access databases to find eBooks]
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
- Bio-bibliographies and Biographies
[Finding biographies of people & lists of materials in a subject] - Dissertations & PhD Thesis
[Finding other PhD thesis in your topic] - Book Reviews
[Description, critical analysis and/or evaluation of a book] - Archives: How to locate & research
[Finding Archives when working with primary sources]
- CURRENT NEWS
[Databases to research contemporary newspapers, radios, etc] - NEWS & NEWSPAPERS ARCHIVES
[Organized Geographically by Region]
_______________________________________________
- Primary Sources
[A selection of resources addressing UVA courses] - MAPS
[Databases to search historical maps]
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
The GOAL OF THIS GUIDE is to highlight the portion of collections held at UVA in French language and direct you to the best resources for the study of French Studies. The guide includes reference works, monographs, journal articles, databases owned or licensed by the library, and links to external web resources. UVA libraries fully support the French Studies at the University of Virginia. The study of French at the University of Virginia cultivates an expansive and critical engagement with the French-speaking world of all periods, from the middle Ages to the twenty-first century.
If you have questions, or suggestions, please email:
Miguel A. Valladares Llata (mav4n@virginia.edu)