This is the "Accounts" page of the "Accounts You Will Need at UVa" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounts You Will Need at UVa  

Last Updated: Aug 13, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/accounts Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Accounts Print Page
  Search: 
 

Accounts

Eservices | HIVE Software | Home Directory | Interlibrary Loan/LEO | Library Account  | Netbadge | Printing | Central Mail Server | Wireless | Interlibrary Loan/LEO

Eservices   Account 
Your Eservices Account is already set up. if you want to reset your Eservices password, you can do so. Note that you can also reset or change your Central Mail, Eservices, or Outlook/Echange password using the same site,. When you are asked to login using NetBadge, you can use either you Central Mail Service, Eservices, or Blue Unix password.
 
When do you use your Eservices account? You must use your eservices account to login to public computers on-Grounds in labs and classrooms. The login and password for your Eservices account is also used to access your Home Directory account from off-Grounds.
 
When do you use your NetBadge account? You must use your eservices account to login to public computers on-Grounds in labs and classrooms. When you are asked to login using NetBadge, you can use either you Central Mail Service, Eservices, or Blue Unix password.
 
HIVE 
When do you use your Hive account? You will use the HIVE to get remote access to specialized software programs to which U.Va. provides access such as SPSS. Additional software is available on computers in labs on-Grounds. See the Research Software Support web page for more information.
 

Important Hive Upgrade Note for Returning HIVE  Users
The Hive was upgraded on July 15, 2013. For the best user experience, please uninstall the old client version and then install the latest version (VMware View 5.3), following the “Download & Install the VMware Client” instructions.

Home Directory
Your Home Directory account is already set up.   
When do you use your Home Directory account? This account has 4 GB of space allowing you to safely save and access all of your documents on an U.Va. server from any computer anywhere in the world. For example, use WORD to write your paper. When you save your work, select the HOME DIRECTORY as opposed to selecting another drive. If you are using a public computer on-Grounds, the HOME DIRECTORY will automatically display as an option when you save. If you are off-Grounds and want to use the HOME DIRECTORY, you can access the Home Directory by either using the web interface or by downloading the Home Directory software onto your computer. Documents on the home directory are backed up every 2 hours and you can retrieve any items you accidentally delete.
 
If you need more storage for your files that the Home Directory account provides or you need to be able to share your files, UVa Box may be the answer to your needs.  UVa Box is a cloud-based storage and collaboration service that gives eligible members of the University community the ability to access, store, and share a wide range of non-sensitive/moderately sensitive University files securely—anywhere, anytime, on any device.

This service provides 50 GB of storage and is free to current faculty or staff and degree-seeking UVa students (see eligibility info) for as long as the person is at UVa.  Note: UVa Box is not appropriate for certain types of data, including highly sensitive data (see UVa Box User Responsibilities for more information). Federal/state laws and UVa information policies apply to the use of this service.  For additional information, see the UVa Box FAQs.


 
Interlibrary Loan and LEO Account
You must set up your Interlibrary Loan and LEO account. To set up an account, go to the Interlibrary Services page, click on button, FIRST TIME USERS (on the right side of the  page) and fill out the form.
When do you use your Interlibrary Loan and LEO account?  When the U.Va. Library does not have a book or journal article that you need, use the Interlibrary Loan service . It's fast and it's free for UVa affiliates.  You can also use it to view titles of the items you have checked out, and see a list of items you have on "hold" that are awaiting pickup at the library location you designated when you created your interlibrary loan and LEO account.
 
NOTE: In the left hand column, under CHOOSE A REQUEST type, select PDF if you want a copy of a journal article or a book chapter. Select BORROW AN ITEM if you want to borrow a book or dissertation. However, do note that most dissertations are available full text through the Dissertation and Theses database.

Library Account
Your Library account is already set up. To login to your account, go to the Library account page,  use your NetBadge login and password to access your account.  From this account you will be able to view the titles of the books you have checked out and renew them if necessary.
When do you use your Library account? Use this online account to renew books and other library materials.

 
NetBadge 

Loging into Netbadge: You can use your. Central Mail Services, your Eservices, or your  Outlook/Echange password to login to Netbadge
When do you use your Netbadge account?  When a University website, service, or application needs to know your identity, it automatically redirects you to NetBadge first, to verify your identity before granting you access. NetBadge protects many resources at U.Va. such as library databases, access to full text journal articles, etc. For example, if you want to access one of the databases on this web site, you would click on the database name and  the netbadge authentication login will appear if you are off-Grounds. Just login and you would then be able to access the databases!

Printing on-Grounds
You can use the public printers located in libraries and labs to print documents when you are on-Grounds. If you are using your laptop, you must download print drivers onto your laptop. You will need to download the printer driver for your laptop's operating system if you want to use your laptop to print to the public printer in the CLIC or any other printing locations. Instructions for setting up your laptop computer to work with the "Follow You Printing" system may be found under PUBLIC LASER PRINTERS on this PCS website (in the left column).
 
 
You must set up your Cavalier Advantage account. You must activate the Cavalier Advantage account associated with your University ID card by depositing funds onto your student I.D. card which then becomes a debit card.  Cavalier Advantage works as a declining-balance account on the ID card; funds must be available in the account for its use. When it reaches a zero balance purchases will no longer be accepted. Cash cannot be withdrawn from the account, and there is no minimum balance to maintain. Your University ID card is non-transferable.
You can also use your Cavalier Advantage account to pay for parking fees in the visitors parking garage (you also get a 25% discount on the parking tab if you use the card), food at university eating establishments, and items in the bookstore. You can deposit money onto your card in a variety of ways both in person or online.
When do you use your Cavalier Advantage account? This account enables you to pay for your printing or copying when you are using a public printer or photocopier on-Grounds. 
 
 
RefWorks Account
You must set up your RefWorks account. Be sure to use your U.Va. e-mail address when you set up your RefWorks account.  You can view these RefWorks' tutorials.

When do you use your RefWorks account? RefWorks is a web-based software application that enables you to:
 
  •         Download citations from databases and put them into a personal RefWorks research database

  •         Format bibliographies and citations automatically in over 400 styles including APA, MLA, etc.

  •         Use in conjunction with WORD to write papers, dissertations,  etc.

  •         Access your RefWorks account from any computer, anywhere

  •         Create a database and share it with colleagues around the world


After you set up this account, you can search databases and Google Scholar, download the citations into RefWorks, and access them from any location.  Citations in your RefWorks account will have a   button. Click it to locate the article. In most cases, the article will be full text online. If full text is not available online, check to see if there is a print copy of the journal at one of the U.Va. Libraries. If there is not, you can obtain a digital copy through the Library's InterLibrary Services.  See our RefWorks page for more information.

Wireless Account
You must set up your Wireless account.
 
When do you use your Wireless account? You will need a wireless account to use your laptop or any mobile device when you are on-Grounds.
 
 Central Mail Service 
Your Eservices Account is already set up. if you want to reset your Central Mail Service password, you can do so. 
      

    UVa Library     |     UVa Library MOBILE    |    Off Grounds Access     |     ITC Help Desk     |     Ask a Librarian

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip