Primary Sources about Women

American feminist magazine. Also available in microfilm.

Feminist activist newspaper from the US. Also available in microfilm (years spread across 2 sets of microfilm). Also available online in JSTOR, complete with illustrations and photography.

Feminist publication on art and politics. Also available online, complete with illustrations and photography.

British feminist periodical. Also available in microfilm.

Pioneering French feminist journal, founded by Simone de Beauvoir.

German language journal covering feminism and film.

Founded in 1970, this popular magazine is devoted to the interests of African American women.

Very popular home and family magazine. 1885-1950 available online at the Home Economics Archive.

See also American Periodicals Series Online. Use Advanced Search and limit search to Publication title: Ladies' home journal.

Originally published in the 1880s as a dressmaking patterns magazine, it later became a popular home and family magazine. More years available in microfilm.

Early 20th century available in Special Collections

Women's fashion and dressmaking magazine. Many issues available in print.

Edited by Sarah J. Hale, this was the first U.S. women's magazine to last more than five years.

See also American Periodicals Series Online. Use Advanced Search and limit search to Publication title: American Ladies Magazine.

Series I (18th Century). Series II (1800-1850). Series III (1850-1900: Civil War and reconstruction series).

See also American Periodicals Series Online for a digitized version of this series. On the main page of the digital version, select "View Title List" to browse titles that might pertain to women.

Anti-suffrage publication. Later title: The Woman's Protest and Woman Patriot.

A popular periodical for housewives and children, featuring fashion, light fiction, and verse. See also American Periodicals Series Online. Use Advanced Search and limit search to Publication title: Arthur's Home Magazine.

The organ of the Pankhursts' Women's Social and Political Union, later the Women's Party.

Concerned with the condition and needs of women, with working-class women, and with women's education.

News and articles about the women's rights movement, stressing the achievements of women who succeeded in a man's world.

"Political, professional and popular periodicals written for and by women across Europe." Unit 2 features French periodicals.

Written, edited, and published by Charlotte Perkins Gilman; contains fiction, poetry, editorials, and news reports.

A popular high-circulation magazine that published literary works by all the great writers of the period, with illustrations and engravings. 1830-1898. See also American Periodicals Series Online. Use Advanced Search and limit search to Publication title: Godey's Magazine.

Continuation of Godey's Lady's Book, The Lady's book, American ladies' magazine, Ladies' magazine, and Ladies' magazine and literary gazette.

Contains women's periodicals from the International Women's History Periodical Archive assembled by the Women's History Research Center. Hard to find journals and newspapers of the women's movement from 1956 to 1974. University of Missouri's guide (similar to the print guide in Shannon) is online.

Microfilm collection of selected materials on women before 1920.

See reel guide for index to dozens of periodical titles in this microfilm set. To search for reel numbers of items listed in this guide, click on Search at top of first screen that displays. Next screen, select History of Women from the Collection Title drop-down menu. You may now enter a term in the full-text search box. Or, enter a term in one of the boxes under Additional Search Options.

Well-illustrated, contents include mainly fiction and sentimental poetry. See also American Periodicals Series Online. Use Advanced Search and limit search to Publication title: Ladies Companion. Variant titles: The Ladies' Companion, a Monthly Magazine: Devoted to Literature and the Fine Arts and The Ladies' Companion, and Literary Expositor: a Monthly Magazine Embracing Every Department of Literature.

Also titled Lady's magazine, and repository of entertaining knowledge and Repository of entertaining knowledge. The first U.S. women's magazine, it presented fiction, poetry, and fashion. See also American Periodicals Series Online. Use Advanced Search and limit search to Publication title: Ladies magazine.

This magazine attempted to combine household hints with intellectual improvement.

Founded by Amelia Bloomer, this magazine advocated women's rights and dress reform.

Published by the female factory employees at the Lowell woolen mills in Massachusetts, offers insight into the labor conditions and the socio-economic problems of the period. See also American Periodicals Series Online. Use Advanced Search and limit search to Publication title: Lowell Offering.

An early women's rights journal, edited by Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, among others.

U.S. women's fashion magazine. Other years available in microform, print, and online.

Until 1912, this journal was the organ of the Pankhursts' Women's Social and Political Union.

"A national newspaper for home and national defense against woman suffrage, feminism and socialism." Microfilm located in 2 sets, and some print issues available in Special Collections. [Print Ald Stacks: JK1903.A2 ?]

A journal of women's trade unions, arguing for organization and for improvement of working conditions in factories and workshops.

Published by the American Woman Suffrage Association and edited by Lucy Stone's daughter, Alice S. Blackwell. Only about 70 scattered issues were available for microfilming.

Edited by the British suffragist Henrietta B. Muller. Index/guide includes list of interviewees, including George Eliot, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Rosa Bonheur. Previous title: Women's Penny Paper.

The official publication of the National Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. Previous title: The Anti-Suffragist. Later title: Woman Patriot.

Edited by the British suffragist Henrietta B. Muller. Index/guide includes list of interviewees, including George Eliot, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Rosa Bonheur. Later title: The Woman's Herald.