Searching Virgo
Catalog Only = anti-americanism
- Virgo does not use Boolean connectors, such as and, or between terms.
- Put a phrase within quotation marks
- Automatically does stemming of search terms (view, viewer, viewers, viewing)
- You can further refine search results by using the limiters on the left of the search results screen. For example, clicking on "Special Collections" under "Library" will narrow your results to materials held in Special Collections.
- Be sure you click on "Start Over" to perform a new search.
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www2.lib.virginia.edu/tools/offgrounds.html
America History & Life Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
Search: France AND anti-americanism
Historical Abstracts Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
JSTOR Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
Academic Search Complete A general database of articles from a variety of scholarly journals, popular magazines, and some newspapers. Includes some speeches and interviews. Years of coverage varies according to title, but some publications are covered back to the late 19th century.
Search: Cuba AND embargo
To find interviews: Castro, Fidel = PE people Document Type = Interview
PAIS Useful for finding journal articles, book citations, government publications, and reports issued by public and private organizations in the areas of political science and public policy.
Search: Gamal Nasser and "United States"
Fuente Academica Scholarly journal articles from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. Covers most subjects, but particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, sociology. Many articles are in Spanish or Portuguese.
Newspapers & Popular Media
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www2.lib.virginia.edu/tools/offgrounds.html
LexisNexis Academic News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
Search the News: Search for "Yitzhak Shamir" anti-American [sort results Oldest to Newest]
Factiva Articles from over 6,000 international newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. (Tips: Use "Simple Search", All Sources. Put a search phrase within quotation marks. Do not use boolean connectors.)
Simple Search: Panama anti-American*
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Search back issues of The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, and Chicago Defender.
Search NY Times Advanced Search: Nixon AND Venezuela AND riots
Date Range = 1958-1958
International newspaper holdings on microfilm The library has back issues of a number of foreign newspapers on microfilm. Staff on the 3rd Floor of Alderman Library will assist with using film. Foreign newspapers are also held by the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) and can be borrowed via Interlibrary Loan.
Additional Resources
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www2.lib.virginia.edu/tools/offgrounds.html
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports Information gathered from thousands of foreign media sources, including political speeches, television programs and radio broadcasts, and articles from newspapers, periodicals, and books.
Digital National Security Archive Declassified documents used in foreign policy decision-making by the U.S. government. These documents have been gathered through the use of the Freedom of Information Act.
Search Documents: Keywords= leftists Collection = Chile and the United States
Declassified Documents Reference System Searchable collection of over 70,000 declassified U.S. documents from the 1940s to the 1970s taken from presidential libraries, the CIA, the FBI and other agencies. Covers the Cold War, Vietnam, the civil rights movement and other events.
Basic Search: Dominican Republic and anti-American
ProQuest Congressional provides mostly full-text publications from the U.S. Congress, including testimony from Congressional hearings, legislative histories of laws, reports to Congress, etc.
Search: Castro AND communism Date Between = Jan 1, 1959 to Dec 31, 1960
Subject Librarian |
Gary Treadway, Librarian for Politics and History Links: Profile & Guides |
Off-Grounds Access
Most databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information.
Loading...
