Art and Art History

Art & Architecture Source is a full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.

Articles and art reproductions in all arts media from selected periodicals. Art Index Retro covers 1929-1984 and Art Index Full Text 1984-present. Abstracts are included from 1994 on; full-text of articles from some journals from 1997 on.

Find articles and book reviews in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning in journals from many countries. Coverage begins in the 1930s, but some journals are indexed back to the the 1860s. Many citations include abstracts.

AHR net consists of four databases: Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR) is an ongoing abstracting and indexing service that aims to cover many of the most important design and applied arts journals and annuals published during the 20th century. ReVIEW aims to digitize many of the most important decorative and fine arts journals published in Europe and the USA during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Arts + Architecture Profiles - Includes biographical data on over 40,000 artists, architects, and designers. Research Sources: 1. The Poster - Contains extensive information on the Poster, including: A History of the Poster: a Biographical and Online Survey: digitizations of most of the significant books, exhibition catalogs and journals on the Poster published between 1890a-1920s: and an International Directory of Poster Collections.

The databases cover 700,000+ artists and public sales from 6,300 worldwide auction houses since 1962.

Artstor is now on JSTOR.
Images of world art from all periods, including paintings, drawings, prints, historic photographs, architecture and design.

Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) is a nonprofit arts organization for video and media art. Full-length streaming videos are available for various artists.

Comprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific with links to tens of thousands of images.

Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.

Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.

Coverage: 1971 - present
Lists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews.

The Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new and still unfinished work. It aims to provide short, up-to-date and accessible articles on many topics which are either not covered in EI2, or for which the EI2 articles are outdated. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world. EI3 does not replace EI2, which is more detailed and still authoritative; rather, the two should be used together.

Search for books and articles in periodicals about Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews.

The IMB shares an interface with the Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale and the International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance.
Lists articles from books and journals on any topic relating to the European Middle Ages (ca. 400-1500).

A bibliographic and iconographic database listing over 100,000 works of art produced from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. Entries include citations to articles and books about the object.

Full text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.

See also Finding Dissertations

Coverage: 1690-1991
Searchable full text collection of US newspapers. For additional titles see 19th Century U.S. Newspapers.

Atlanta World Daily, The American Israelite, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, The Guardian & The Observer, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, Le Monde, Los Angeles Times, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, The Times of India, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.

A subset of the larger ProQuest Historical Newspapers, this is a collection of several prominent black newspapers including the Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, and Pittsburgh Courier.

Over 40 databases of journal articles, books, and other documents in many subject areas. Menu allows searching multiple databases at the same time