Tips
Off Grounds? Most of these databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information | Information for the iPhone/iPod Touch
Using a mobile device? Smartphone, PDA, iPodTouch? See Mobile Access to UVa Library Information (Mobile version: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/print_content.php?&pid=82435)
Journal Articles. Clicking on
will tell you if UVa has an online version of the article or let you look the journal up in Virgo.
A
- ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature - 1922-present
Search for monographs, journal articles, critical editions,, book reviews, collections of essays and dissertations from anywhere in the world. - ABSEES: American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies - 1990-present Lists articles, books, dissertations, etc. published in the U.S. and Canada on all aspects of eastern Europe, Russia, and other states of the former Soviet Union. For other publications use European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies.
- Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering: ANTE - 1990-present US and UK research in emerging technologies including computing, electronics, biotechnology, medicine. and construction, electrical and chemical engineering. Covers articles, tech reports, proceedings, etc.
- Academic Search Complete Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches and other primary source documents.
- Academic Search Complete Mobile
- AccessMedicine Collection of e-books on medical science and clinical medicine plus drug information, patient education information, clinical practice guidelines and study guides. RSS feeds and podcasts provide updates. Please logout after use.
- Access NewspaperArchive Collection of historical newspapers. Although it includes almost 4000 titles, some are available for only a few years. Some international coverage.
- AccessScience: the online encyclopedia of science & technology Online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia and its Yearbooks with additional updates, biographies, and a glossary of scientific terms.
- AccessUN Search for UN documents (draft resolutions, meeting records, Sales Publications, Treaty Series, etc.) with links to full text online or on microfiche in Alderman's Government Information Resources.
- Accessible Archives Texts and page images from The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), 7 African-American newspapers from 1827-1860, and 3 Civil War newspapers: New York Herald, Richmond Enquirer, and Charleston Mercury.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book Large collection of e-books. Topics include history, archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
- ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) Digital Library Citations and full-text of articles from ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings relating to the computing industry.
- ADS: Astrophysics Data System Full Text Citations and abstracts of articles in astronomy and physics, with links to published version and to preprints. It is also possible to search the fulltext of documents scanned for ADS.
- Aerospace & High Technology Database - 1962-present Find journal articles and technical reports in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. Covers basis and applied research and technological developments in supporting research fields.
- African-American Newspapers - 1827-1860 Searchable text and page images for 7 African-American newspapers published between 1827 and 1860. For more recent (1985-present) newspapers, see Ethnic NewsWatch.
- African-American Poetry, 1760-1900 Over 2,500 poems. Use LiON to see this with Twentieth century African-American Poetry and other collections.
- African American Song
Now included in American Song. Recordings of African American song in the US plus some from Haiti and the West Indies. Part of Music Online. - African Americans Some works by and about African Americans from the UVA Library's collections.
- African Journals OnLine (AJOL) - 1998-present Find articles from journals published in Africa on all subjects or browse lists of the journals by subject or by country of publication. Some articles are available in full-text.
- AFSO:American Film Scripts Online Full text scripts of major American films from the silent era on.
- AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics Find full-text of articles and other papers on all aspects of agribusiness and food-related economic topics as well as many other aspects of applied economics. International coverage.
- Agricola Locate articles, books, tech reports, software, patents, etc. about agriculture and related life sciences.
- AICT: Art Images for College Teaching Images of art and architectural works in the public domain. The images on this site were photographed on location by the author, who consents to their use in any application that is both educational and non-commercial.
- AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts - 1982-present Find journal articles and other publications on AIDS, immunology, virology and cancer genetics. Concentrates on both basic science research and clinical applications.
- Alt HealthWatch - 1984-present Holistic and other complemenetary and alternative approaches to health care and wellness. Includes journal articles plus pamphlets, special reports, and book excerpts.
- Aluminium Industry Abstracts: AIA - 1972-present Locate journal articles, tech reports, conference proceedings, books, and patents on production processes, products, applications, and business developments related to aluminum.
- America History & Life - 1964-present Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
- America History & Life Mobile
- American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies: ABSEES - 1990-present Lists articles, books, dissertations, etc. published in the U.S. and Canada on all aspects of eastern Europe, Russia, and other states of the former Soviet Union. For other publications use European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies.
- American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies: ABSEES Mobile
- American Chemical Society: ACS Publications Full text of articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society.
- American Civil War Primary source material on the American Civil War, including letters, diaries and newspapers from the UVA Library's collections.
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries Letters, diaries and memoirs from the American Civil War, many still in manuscript form. Also includes selected biographies, a bibliography and a chronology of the War.
- American Drama 1714-1915 Selected plays by American dramatists. Part of LiON
- American Film Institute Catalog Provides production and cast information, plot summaries, and notes for American feature films. Part of Film Indexes Online.
- American Film Scripts Online: AFSO Full text scripts of major American films from the silent era on.
- American Memory Project: Library of Congress Primary source documents and archives for American history and culture: printed texts, collections of photographs, and some scanned manuscripts on topics such as African-American pamphlets, Civil War photographs, women's suffrage, etc.
- American Periodicals Series (APS Online) - 1740-1900 Full text of over 1000 magazines and journals published in the US between 1740 and 1900.
- American Poetry Database - before 1900 40,356 poems from 1,288 works by 209 American poets from the Colonial period to the early twentieth century. Use with other poetry collections in LiON.
- American Song
Recordings of 50,000 songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Part of Music Online. - America's Historical Newspapers: 1690-1922 Searchable full text collection of US newspapers. . For additional titles see Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers and Historical Newspapers.
- L'Année Philologique - 1949-recent Indexes articles on the literature, languages, and history of ancient Greece and Rome from journals, books and conference proceedings. Coverage in the online version begins with 1949 and goes up to 2-3 years before the current year.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature: ABELL - 1922-present
Search for monographs, journal articles, critical editions,, book reviews, collections of essays and dissertations from anywhere in the world. - ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering - 1993-present US and UK research in emerging technologies including computing, electronics, biotechnology, medicine. construction, electrical and chemical engineering. Covers articles, tech reports, proceedings, etc.
- Anthropology Plus - 1890-present
Find articles, reports, and other materials on social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. - Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts: ASSIA - 1987-present Lists journal articles in areas such as health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education with emphasis on information for the practitioner.
- Aqualine - 1960-present Trade, technical and scientific publications on all aspects of water resources including legislation, water management, quality and distribution, wastewater and sewage, ecological and environmental effects of water pollution.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts: ASFA - 1971-present Find articles on water resources and fisheries from over 5,000 serial publications plus books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature.
- ArchiveGrid Locate archives (manuscripts, letters, wills, family, corporate, and civic records, etc.) held in over a thousand libraries around the world.
- Archives USA Find manuscripts and other primary material in US archival repositories and other collections. Includes the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections from 1959 to present, as well as the Index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources.
- Art Full Text - 1929-present Articles and art reproductions in all arts media from selected periodicals. Art Index Retro covers 1929-1984 and Art Index Full Text 1984-present. Abstracts are included from 1994 on; full-text of articles from some journals from 1997 on.
- Art Images for College Teaching: AICT Images of art and architectural works in the public domain. The images on this site were photographed on location by the author, who consents to their use in any application that is both educational and non-commercial.
- Art Index Retro Articles and art reproductions in all arts media from selected periodicals. Art Index Retro covers 1929-1984 and Art Index Full Text 1984-present. Abstracts are included from 1994 on; full-text of articles from some journals from 1997 on.
- ARTFL A full text database containing a large number of French literary works and Diderot's Encyclopédie. Although all text can be searched, many works can be displayed only a few pages at a time.
- ArticleFirst - 1990-present Find articles from over 16,000 journals on all subjects. Also searchable through WorldCat.org.
- ARTStor
Images of world art from all periods, including paintings, drawings, prints, historic photographs, architecture and design. Tips on using ArtStor. - Arts & Humanities Citation Index - 1981-present
Part of Web of Knowledge. Tries to index most frequently cited journals, and entries include number of times the article has been cited. Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. - arXiv Open access to over 500,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
- ASCE Research Library (American Society of Civil Engineers) - 1995-present Search journals and conference proceedings published by the society. Topics include engineering and architecture, coasts, energy, environment, materials, transportation, and water resources.
- ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts - 1971-present Find articles on water resources and fisheries from over 5,000 serial publications plus books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature.
- Asian American Drama Searchable full text of over 250 plays, many of them otherwise unpublished. Also playbills and other production information.
- ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts - 1987-present Lists journal articles in areas such as health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education with emphasis on information for the practitioner.
- Associates Programs Source Articles on topics often taught in community colleges, including accounting, agriculture, child care, cosmetology, cooking, food service, forestry, graphic arts, hospitality management, interior design, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, welding.
- Associates Programs Source Mobile
- Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library Citations and full-text of articles from ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings relating to the computing industry.
- Astrophysics Data System: ADS Full Text Citations and abstracts of articles in astronomy and physics, with links to published version and to preprints. It is also possible to search the fulltext of documents scanned for ADS.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials Lists articles on all aspects of religious studies from journals in many disciplines. Includes citations to book chapters and to book reviews. ATLASerials adds the full text of many journals.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials - Mobile
- The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas A media database with images documenting many aspects of the slave trade.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Find articles and book reviews in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning in journals from many countries. Coverage begins in the 1930s, but some journals are indexed back to the the 1860s. Many citations include abstracts.
Reserves & UVaCollab
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait