Declaration of Independence
The Declaration of Independence is perhaps the most famous and inspirational of Jefferson's writings. An original copy of the Declaration is on display in U.Va. Library's permanent Special Collections exhibits.
Original copy of the Declaration of Independence, courtesy of the National Archives.
U.Va. Holdings
- The Papers of Thomas Jefferson--Digital EditionUniversity of Virginia Press site compiling all 33 volumes of The Papers of Thomas Jefferson published through 2006 and eventually including volumes of the Retirement Series sponsored by the Thomas Jefferson Foundation, which documents the time between Jefferson’s return to private life and his death in 1826. Includes illustrations and bibliographical information. Restricted to U.Va. students, faculty and staff.
- The Thomas Jefferson Papers at U.Va. LibraryDetailed description of U.Va. Library's collection of the Papers of Thomas Jefferson, held in microfilm at the Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library.
- Calendar of The Jefferson Papers of the University of VirginiaDetailed archival description list of the Jefferson Papers held by U.Va. Library Special Collections.
Non-U.Va. Holdings
- Thomas Jefferson Papers--Online, Library of CongressDigitized images from the Library of Congress's collection of original Jefferson documents--over 83,000 images, including correspondence, commonplace books, financial account books, and manuscript volumes, 1651-1827 (thus including some ancestral material for Jefferson). Transcriptions not included.
- Thomas Jefferson Papers: An Electronic ArchiveMassachusetts Historical Society site of digital images and transcribed texts including Jefferson's catalogs of his books, farm and garden books and architectural drawings.
- Family Letters Digital ArchivePrepared by the Thomas Jefferson foundation, and offering a searchable database of correspondence between Jefferson and his immediate and extended family. a companion to the planned Papers of Thomas Jefferson: Retirement Series (1809-1826), the letters extend past the period of Jefferson's death to 1873.
- The Jefferson Bible: The Life and Morals of Jesus of Nazareth Extracted Textually From the GospelsJefferson's edited version of the Gospels attempting to separate Christ's ethical teachings from religious dogma and supernatural elements (from Google Books).