- ACS Publications
Good first database for undergraduate research. Full text of articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society.
Compendex, now part of Engineering Village, is a large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences, and adds over 220,000 new abstracts each year. Includes book reviews.
- Corrosion Abstracts
Corrosion Abstracts provides the world's most complete source of bibliographic information in the area of corrosion science and engineering.
- Digital Dissertations
Full text (PDF for download) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some international universities.
Handbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in the Virgo Library Catalog.
- Knovel Library
Large collection of handbooks on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering.
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
Access provided through Engineering Village. NTIS contains bibliographic citations and summaries of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals
Full text of articles from journals published by Elsevier Science.
Provides access to Chemical Abstracts, including the CAplus database of chemical literature and patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database. Click on the above link for more information and instructions on downloading.
- Web of Science/Web of Knowledge
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-present) which can be searched together or separately.