U.VA. LIBRARY CHILDREN'S BOOK COLLECTION
![]() |
|
DATABASES
- Children's Literature Comprehensive DatabaseThis database contains information and reviews on children's books, videos and audio books ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults. 1993-present
- Children's Litrature Site by Carol HurstThis website provides a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.
- Database of Award Winning Children's Literature."The purpose of this database is to create a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards. I expect the user to be a librarian or a teacher intervening for a child-reader, however anyone may make use of it to find the best in children's literature including parents, book store personnel, and children and young adults themselves."
As of October 2012, DAWCL has over 9,600 records from 106 awards across six English-speaking countries (United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland). - Horn Book GuideHorn Book Guide publishes short, critical reviews of virtually every hardcover trade book published in the United States for young people. March 2010 -present
- Kraus Curriculum Development Library (KCDL)KCDL database now contains nearly 9,000 curricula, frameworks, and standards from 1983 through mid-2012. In total, there are about 5,000 records with full-text documents.
- VIRGO: Children's books ONLY
CHILDREN'S EBOOK COLLECTIONS
- Children's Books Online: The Rosetta ProjectThe Rosetta Project has online children's books that are public domain, published before 1923, and have no copyright restrictions.
- International Children's Digital Library (ICDL)The ICDL Foundation's goal is to build a collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world. Ultimately, the Foundation aspires to have every culture and language represented so that every child can know and appreciate the riches of children's literature from the world community
- Baldwin Library's Historical Childrens Book Collection
- Children's Library @Internet Archive
- Library of Congress: Digitized Rare Books
- Storyline Online
- Starfall
SOCIAL MEDIA RELATED TO CHILDREN'S LITERATURE
- Blog: Brooklyn Arden
- Blog: De Colores: The Raza Experience in Books for Children
- Blog: Jen Robinson's Book Page
- Blog: Read Roger
- Blog: Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast
- ESSL Children's Literature Blog
- Listserv: child_lit
- Listservs related to children's literature
- Podcast: Publisher's Weekly KidsCast
- Twitter: @akronlibrary
- Twitter: @PWKidsBookshelf
Ask Your Librarians |
434-924-7040 Chat requires JavaScript. Contact Info The CLIC Bavaro Hall, room 306 Links: Profile & Guides |
BOOK AWARDS
Caldecott Medal Winners,
The Caldecott Medal is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American Picture Book for Children published in the United States during the preceding year. The library has all the books that won this award. (1938-present)
Newbery Medal Winners,
The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year. The library has all the books that won this award. (1938-present)


Loading...
