This is the "Library Workshops" page of the "Library Workshops" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Workshops  

Last Updated: Aug 25, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/clicworkshops Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Library Workshops Print Page
  Search: 
 

Current Workshops, Webinars, and Consultations

   Workshops

Data Management Consulting Group - Data Management Workshops

StatLab - Statistics Workshops Schedule 

GIS (Geographic Information Systems) in the Scholar's Lab  - GIS Training

               Digital Media Lab - Short Courses

Curry Librarians' Workshops.

WORKSHOP: SET UP YOUR UVA ACCOUNTS   
WHEN:  You need to attend only one session.
10:00 am to 11:00 am  -  Tuesday,  August 26 OR Wednesday, August 27
WHERE:   Ruffner Hall, room 302 (The Library Data Commons@Curry space)
DESCRIPTION: The University of Virginia has several technology and services accounts that you will want to use to insure your success while you are a student.  In this session we will learn about the accounts and will set up your access to them.  Please bring your laptop.   See this web guide, Accounts You Will Need at UVA, for more information.
REGISTER HERE

WORKSHOP: FINDING AND ACCESSING FULL TEXT JOURNAL ARTICLES
WHEN:  You need to attend only one session.
Noon to 1:00 pm   - Tuesday, August  26 OR Wednesday,  August 27
10:00 am to 11:00 am  -  Thursday, August 28 OR Friday,  August 29
WHERE:   Ruffner Hall, room 302 (The Library Data Commons@Curry space)
DESCRIPTION: Learn how to use databases, Google Scholar, and more to locate full text journal articles from the top journals in your field of study. We will demonstrate how to locate peer reviewed journals as well as how to narrow the results by specific methodologies, age groups, and publication type. Please bring your laptop.
REGISTER HERE

TOPIC: INTRODUCTION TO REFWORKS
WHEN:  You need to attend only one session.
2:00pm to 3:00 pm – Tuesday, August 26   OR Wednesday, August 27 OR  
                               Monday, September 1 OR Tuesday, September 2
12:00 pm to 1:00 pm – Thursday, August 28 OR Friday, August 29
WHERE: Ruffner Hall, room 302 (The Library Data Commons@Curry space)
DESCRIPTION: Learn to set up and use RefWorks software to organize your research and automatically create citations and bibliographies in APA, AMA, or other bibliographic styles.   Please bring your laptop.
REGISTER HERE

TOPIC:  USING THE BROWZINE APP TO FIND JOURNAL ARTICLES
WHEN: You need to attend only one session.
2:00 pm to 2:20 pm – Thursday, August 28 OR Friday, August 29
WHERE: Ruffner Hall, room 302 (The Library Data Commons@Curry space)
DESCRIPTION: With most of the current scholarly journals only available online, the Curry Librarians are frequently asked how a person can browse these digital journals.  In the past the answer was pretty complicated, but now we have an app for that, Browzine.  In this very short demonstration, we will show you how to maximize your use of this handy, current awareness app.  The Browzine app is free and available for tablets using the Apple iOS and the Android operating systems.    
REGISTER HER
E

TOPIC: LIBRARY RESOURCES IN THE LITERATURE REVIEW PROCESS 
WHEN: You need to attend only one session.
10:00 am to 11:00 am – Monday, September 1
2:00 pm to  3:00 pm – Tuesday, September 2
WHERE: Ruffner Hall, room 302 (The Library Data Commons@Curry space)
DESCRIPTION:  This session will provide a brief overview of function of the literature review in scholarly communication, a review search strategies and tips for finding appropriate materials for a literature review, and a discussion on methods for evaluating the articles you find.     Please bring your laptop.
REGISTER HERE

TOPIC:  APA STYLE IN WRITING IN WRITING AND CITING
WHEN: You need to attend only one session.
12:00 pm to 1:00 pm – Monday, September 1
10:00 am to 11:00 am – Tuesday, September 2
WHERE: Ruffner Hall, room 302 (The Library Data Commons@Curry space)
DESCRIPTION:  Whether you are new to APA or need a refresher, join us to learn how to format APA references and in text citations, use APA style when formatting and writing your research paper, and write with clarity and conciseness. If you have an APA manual, 6th edition, please bring it and your laptop with you.
REGISTER HERE

TOPIC:  USING REFWORKS WRITE-N-CITE 4.0
WHEN: You need to attend only one session.
1:00 pm to 2:00 pm – Wednesday, September 3
12:00 pm to 1:00 pm – Thursday, September 4
11:00 am to 12:00 pm – Friday, September 5
WHERE: Ruffner Hall, room 302 (The Library Data Commons@Curry space)
DESCRIPTION: Learn to use RefWork’s Write-N-Cite software, which works in conjunction with WORD software. Write-N-Cite will automatically insert your reference list and In-Text (Parenthetical) Documentation in APA, AMA, or other style guide format into your research paper.   Please bring your laptop.
REGISTER HERE

 

    Webinars

RefWorks User Education Services has a series of RefWorks training webinars scheduled each month that are available to all current RefWorks subscribers. Registration is complimentary, but each session is limited to 50 people per class and registration is required. 

Use the link below for session titles, dates, times, and registration.

RefWorks YouTube Tutorials                RefWorks Training Webinars

EBSCO provides many short YouTube tutorials that you can view at your convenience. If you are new to using the EBSCO interface you may want to view the Introduction to EBSCOhost Tutorial and the EBSCOhost Advanced Search - Guided Style Find Fields Tutorial first.

APA PsycNET, APA's platform for searching its various databases, also provides a large number of YouTube tutorials. For new users we recommend viewing  APA Databases on APA PsycNET, which consists of a group of 47 short videos demonstrating  various search strategies using the PsycNET interface.  You can view them all or just the ones that cover the information you need.  If you are an old hand at using PsycNET, you may want to view the tutorial on the Library's most recent addition to its group of APA databases, PsycTESTS.

 

Library Consultation Service

 Contact a consultant to arrange a one-on-one consultation or a small group session for your information needs. We enjoy the opportunity to work with you on your unique research questions.

Education Research Consultants (Curry's Librarians)

Carole C. Lohman and Kay Buchanan. To schedule a consultation, contact  clic_librarians@virginia.edu or 434.924.7040

Statistical Consultants

Michele Claibourn, Clay Ford, Nancy Kechner.  To schedule a consultation, contact statlab@virginia.edu

Data Management Consultants

Sherry Lake, Bill Corey, and Ricky Patterson. To schedule a consultation, contact dmconsult@virginia.edu   

GIS Consultant

Chris Gist. To schedule a consultation, contact slabgis@collab.itc.virginia.edu  or call  434.982.2637.    

Data and Geographic Information as well as Government Information Consultant

 Summer Durrant. To schedule a consultation, contact durrant@virginia.edu or call (434) 243-1878

      

    Ask Your Librarians

    434-924-7040
    Chat requires JavaScript.

    Workshop Evaluations


    UVa Library     |     UVa Library MOBILE    |    Off Grounds Access     |     ITC Help Desk     |     Ask a Librarian

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip