This is the "The University Libraries" page of the "About Our Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

About Our Collections  

Last Updated: Nov 17, 2011 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/collections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

The University Libraries Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The University Libraries

Want to read the latest news about our collections?  Check out our blog.

The Rotunda was the original U.Va. library.The University Libraries have over 5 million books; over 120,000 journal and newspaper subscriptions; 19 million manuscripts and archival documents; an extensive collection of microforms; a large and diverse teaching image collection; an audio collection of 90,000 CDs and LPs; and a sizable video collection spanning genres and nationalities, housed in 14 libraries or available online.  Virgo, the Library's catalog is the best place to search for books and journals.

Alderman Library serves advanced undergraduates, graduate students, and faculty in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to reference services and general collections in those areas,  Government Information Resources (Virginia, US, and international government publications) and the Scholars' Lab are located in Alderman, as are the University Library administration and several library departments.

Brown Science & Engineering Library serves the Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Sciences, Mathematics, Physics, Psychology, School of Engineering, and Statistics departments.

Clemons Library is designed to support undergraduate use. Services include 24-hour access, abundant and convenient study space for individuals and groups, and reserve materials for classes in the Humanties and Social Sciences.  Research collections in Clemons support film and television, media studies, drama, and dance.  The Robertson Media Center provides an extensive video collection, and digital media technologies and expertise are available in the Digital Media Lab.

The Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library supports the curriculum and research in Architecture, History of Architecture, Landscape Architeture, Urban Planning, Studio Art, Art History, Theater History and the technical aspects of theater production.

The Music Library serves the McIntire Department of Music with a collection of over 135,000 books, scores, and sound recordings, and extensive online collections and robust computing capabilities.

The Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library contains over 13 million manuscripts, 325,000 rare books, 3 million items in the University Archives, photographs, maps, and other rare materials. The collections support teaching and research in American history and literature, African American history and literature, architecture, book arts, and other areas of the humanities and social sciences.


UVa Library     |     UVa Library MOBILE    |    Off Grounds Access     |     ITC Help Desk     |     Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip