Music in the News: Historical and Current
Check newspapers and magazines for performance reviews.
More Information
Encyclopedia Articles
- Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th ed.Colin Larkin's encyclopedia includes information about popular music, jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musical and world music from 1900 to the present.
- Oxford Music Online (includes New Grove)Includes the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, with regular updates.
- Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World Print copy available on Music Library Reference shelf:
ML 102 .P66 C66 2003 - seven volumes
Journal Articles
Below you see listed the mostly commonly used databases for music research. Click here to view ALL library subscription databases.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature 1967-presentBroad international coverage indexing journals, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, Festschriften, and more covering all areas of music.
- International Index to Music Periodicals 1874-presentIndexes scholarly and popular music publications with abstracts and some full text.
- Rock's BackpagesOnline library of popular music journalism spanning 50 years and including many noted writers.
- JSTOR Journal Storage Project56 music journals are available in full-text through JSTOR. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
- Project MUSEIncludes 12 music journals (mostly current) with a broad range of topics including women in music, Latin-American music, and computer music.
- International Index to the Performing ArtsLists articles from scholarly and popular periodicals covering dance, film, television, theater, opera, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more. Some full text.
- RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (1800-1950)Extensive coverage of music periodical literature from 1800 to 1950. Searchable together with RILM to provide you access to over two hundred years of music periodical literature.
Subject Guide |


Loading...
