Best Data Resources
- Add Health A longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of adolescents in grades 7-12 in the United States during the 1994-95 school year. Some data is public-use, some requires permission. Consult with Scholars' Lab - 243-8800.
- ChildInfo: Monitoring the State of Children & Women "This website contains UNICEF’s statistical information, including data used in UNICEF’s flagship publications, The State of the World’s Children and Progress for Children. " (from ChildInfo)
- ChildStats.gov "The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, or the Forum, is a working group of Federal agencies that collect, analyze, and report data on issues related to children and families."
- GenderStats - World Bank Data on key gender topics from national statistics agencies, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys.
- Gronigen Growth & Development Centre
This site contains comparative analysis of levels of economic performance and differences in growth rates in the world economy. - Historical Statistics of the United States Quantitative historical data covering American population, work and welfare, economic structure, governance, and international relations from colonial times to the present.
- ICPSR The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.
- Lexis Nexis Statistical Statistical information of all kinds, current and historical, US and international. Excellent for identifying data collected by governments, public agencies, and private groups.
- Migration Information Source Migration Information Source is a web based resource which provides migration information including data, analysis and trends. The Global Data Center section of this website provides information on state by state immigrant populations as well as resources
- Panel Study of Entrepreneurial Dynamics Longitudinal study to collect data on how people start businesses.
- Pew Research Center "The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world."
- Scholars' Lab The U.Va. Library's Scholars' Lab links to and maintains many excellent sources for data in the social sciences. They are primarily strong in demographic, economic, social, and geographic resources.
- WomenWatch - United Nations Various statistics and reports on women and gender.
- World Development Indicators - 1960 to present World Bank database provides direct access to more than 700 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2006, where data are available.
Contact Information |
Contact Info:
Alderman Library
Room 511
University of Virginia
434-982-2677
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Information, Sociology
Alderman Library
Room 511
University of Virginia
434-982-2677
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Information, Sociology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait