Bestsellers Guide ENEC312: Later 18th Century Literature ENEC482: Literature of Houses ENGN482B: Ethnic American Drama ENLT201: Intro to Literary Studies ENLT212: Masterpieces of English Lit ENLT214: Southern Literature ENLT223: United States of Poetry ENLT224: Irish Drama, 20th c. ENLT224: Studies in Drama ENLT252: Writing Women's Lives ENNC/CPLT482: Turn of the Century Lit ENNC352: Lives of the Victorians ENSP645: Journey in Africa 
AMST2500: Language in the U.S.ENCR8100: Intro to Literary Research ENGL4998: Distinguished Majors ENLT2524: Pulitzer in the 21st CenturyENLT2547: Black Writers in America ENLT2550: Shakespeare in Place and SpaceENLT2555: Disability in the 20th C. NovelENMC4500: African-American Drama
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

English Language & Literature  Tags: english literature databases prose poetry fiction criticism  

A guide to doing research in English language and literature at the University of Virginia Library.
Last update: Oct 22nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/english  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ENMC4500: African-American Drama            Print Page
  
 

Get help with your research

Don't hesitate to contact me at any time for help with your research for this class, or any of your other classes.  If I'm not available, you can contact a reference librarian using our Ask a Librarian page.

 
 

Finding library materials about an author or play

Use VIRGO, the U.Va. Library’s online catalog, to:

  • Find books on your topic.  The Details button will show you publication information about the book, and the A Look Inside tab will often provide a detailed table of contents.
  • Find videorecordings of play productions (hint: use the DVDs & videos search link on the right-hand side of the Virgo screen

Sample searches:    

lorraine hansberry [author] for all works written by the author
lorraine hansberry [subject] for books *about* the author
‘raisin in the sun’ [title] for editions of the work
Truncation: raci$ for racial, racially, racism, racist, etc.
Booleans: black or african american; hansberry and criticism; (theater or drama) and scenery [subject]
 

Finding basic information about a playwright

Literature Resource Center is a great place to begin research on a specific author. It includes full-text articles from the Dictionary of Literary Biography (a great source!) and other biographical and critical compilations about authors, along with reference articles & citations.

 

Finding scholarly journal articles about your specific topic

Start by searching the MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB), the most comprehensive resource for finding scholarly articles (as well as books and dissertations) about literature in all languages.  It indexes the broadest range of literary sources (including over 4,000 journals), but it is not a full-text resource, meaning that you can only search the description of an article, rather than the text of the article.  To get the full text of an article, click on “Find article @ UVa Libraries”, or look up the journal title in VIRGO.

IIPA: International Index to the Performing Arts indexes articles from scholarly and trade periodicals about the performing arts, including theater and stagecraft.  If you're looking for discussion of more technical aspects of the theater (set, staging, direction, performance, etc.) this is a good resource.


As you move deeper into your topic, and begin looking for resources that discuss themes, techniques, or subjects related to it, you may want to try searching some full-text databases:

Project Muse provides full-text searching of recent articles from major scholarly journals, including about 120 journals about literature.  Not as comprehensive as MLAIB, but the full-text search will do a better job of picking up matches for specific themes or subjects.  Articles are immediately available as PDFs.

JSTOR
contains back issues (usually five years old or older) of significant scholarly journals in many subjects, including language and literature.  Like Project Muse, JSTOR is not as comprehensive as the MLAIB, but offers the advantages of full-text searching and instant access to PDFs.

Academic Search Complete is a huge general database covering all subjects.  It will return scholarly articles, as well as articles in popular magazines and newspapers.  Most of the articles cited are available in full text.

 

Finding information about play productions

North American Theatre Online contains detailed information about plays and productions, theaters, playwrights, and actors.  It also includes searchable full text of over 1200 plays by African American dramatists, including many on your syllabus.

 

Finding reviews of plays or productions

Most reviews can be found in newspapers.  In addition to Academic Search Complete (see above), use LexisNexis to find relatively recent newspaper articles (less than 15 years old).  For older articles, ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains full text of four major US newspapers (NY Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune), dating back to their initial dates of publication. 

 

Reference works

Use VIRGO to find encyclopedias, bibliographies, research guides, and other reference sources.  One helpful source is the Gale Literary Criticism Series (the multi-volume sets in the PN section of the Reference Room.  Grab any volume and search the index in the back for author, topic, or title.  For example, searching for Lorraine Hansberry lists several entries about the author, including one in Twentieth Century Literary Criticism 192, and an entry about Raisin in the Sun in Contemporary Literary Criticism 62.  These entries compile excerpts of significant criticism over the years, and are a good way to survey a lot of scholarly information quickly.

 

My Profile

Profile ImageChristine Ruotolo, Librarian for English


Contact Info:
Alderman Library
University of Virginia
434-982-2652
Send Email

Subjects:
English

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait