Bestsellers Guide ENEC312: Later 18th Century Literature ENEC482: Literature of Houses ENGN482B: Ethnic American Drama ENLT201: Intro to Literary Studies ENLT212: Masterpieces of English Lit ENLT214: Southern Literature ENLT223: United States of Poetry ENLT224: Irish Drama, 20th c. ENLT224: Studies in Drama ENLT252: Writing Women's Lives ENNC/CPLT482: Turn of the Century Lit ENNC352: Lives of the Victorians ENSP645: Journey in Africa 
AMST2500: Language in the U.S.ENCR8100: Intro to Literary Research ENGL4998: Distinguished Majors ENLT2524: Pulitzer in the 21st CenturyENLT2547: Black Writers in America ENLT2550: Shakespeare in Place and SpaceENLT2555: Disability in the 20th C. NovelENMC4500: African-American Drama
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

English Language & Literature  Tags: english literature databases prose poetry fiction criticism  

A guide to doing research in English language and literature at the University of Virginia Library.
Last update: Oct 22nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/english  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ENLT2550: Shakespeare in Place and Space            Print Page
  
 

Get help with your research

Don't hesitate to contact me at any time for help with your research for this class, or any of your other classes.  If I'm not available, you can contact a reference librarian using our Ask a Librarian page.

 
 

Finding library materials about Shakespeare & his plays

Use VIRGO, the U.Va. Library’s online catalog, to:

  • Find books on your topic.  The Details button will show you publication information about the book, and the A Look Inside tab will often provide a detailed table of contents.
  • Find videorecordings of play productions or film adaptations (hint: use the DVDs & videos search link on the right-hand side of the Virgo screen

Sample searches:    

william shakespeare [author] for all works written by Shakespeare
william shakespeare [subject] for books *about* Shakespeare
‘merchant of venice’ [title] for editions of the play as well as criticism about it
Truncation: theat$ for theater, theatre, theatrical, etc.
Booleans: (renaissance or elizabethan) and (theat$ or drama) and costume

You can also try out VIRGObeta, the new library catalog currently under development. VIRGObeta features relevance ranking, faceted browsing, and many other improvements.

 

Finding online editions of the plays

Literature Online (LION) includes searchable, annotated texts of all of Shakespeare's plays (from the 1863 William George Clark edition).  To find a specific play, type its title in the "Quick Search" box.  You will also see links to free editions of the plays on the web, citations for scholarly articles, and links to brief reference works about the plays or related terms (e.g. "burlesque", "tragedy"). 

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains page images of virtually every edition of Shakespeare's works published before 1700.  Some have been fully transcribed and are thus searchable, but note that the original spellings have been retained.

 

Finding basic information about Shakespeare

Literature Resource Center is a great place to begin research on any author or literary topic, including Shakespeare. It includes full-text articles from the Dictionary of Literary Biography (a great source!) and other biographical and critical compilations, along with reference articles & citations.

 

Finding scholarly journal articles related to Shakespeare

Start by searching the MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB), the most comprehensive resource for finding scholarly articles (as well as books and dissertations) about literature.  It indexes the broadest range of literary sources (including over 4,000 journals), but it is not a full-text resource, meaning that you can only search the description of an article, rather than the text of the article.  To get the full text of an article, click on “Find article @ UVa Libraries”, or look up the journal title in VIRGO.

IIPA: International Index to the Performing Arts indexes articles from scholarly and trade periodicals about the performing arts, including theater and stagecraft.  If you're looking for discussion of more technical aspects of the theater (set, staging, direction, performance, etc.) this is a good resource.

 


 

As you move deeper into your topic, and begin looking for resources that discuss themes, techniques, or subjects related to it, you may want to try searching some full-text databases:

Project Muse provides full-text searching of recent articles from major scholarly journals, including about 120 journals about literature.  Not as comprehensive as MLAIB, but the full-text search will do a better job of picking up matches for specific themes or subjects.  Articles are immediately available as PDFs.

JSTOR
contains back issues (usually five years old or older) of significant scholarly journals in many subjects, including language and literature.  Like Project Muse, JSTOR is not as comprehensive as the MLAIB, but offers the advantages of full-text searching and instant access to PDFs.

Academic Search Complete is a huge general database covering all subjects.  It will return scholarly articles, as well as articles in popular magazines and newspapers.  Most of the articles cited are available in full text.

 

Finding video of play productions or film adaptations

Search VIRGO to find all videorecordings of productions and film adaptations of the plays that the library owns (hint: use the DVDs & videos search link on the right-hand side of the Virgo screen).  The videos are held in the Robertson Media Center on the 3rd floor of Clemons Library.  

Theatre in Video contains streaming video of over 350 play productions, including all of the plays on your syllabus.  Simply search for a title to view the play.

 

Finding art and music related the Elizabethan period

ARTstor contains a wide variety of art images.  You might search for portraits of Shakespeare, drawings of scenes from the plays, blueprints of the Globe Theatre, or costumes from the Elizabethan period.

Classical Music Library and Naxos Music Library will allow you to search for music from the Elizabethan period, and listen to it online.

 

Browsing the shelves for books about Shakespeare

The UC Davis Library maintains a call number browsing guide for Shakespeare resources.  Because they use the same Library of Congress call number system that we do, these call number ranges will be the same in our library.  In Alderman, the PR books are located in the 4th floor New Stacks.

Here's a sample from the UC Davis guide:

General criticism and Biography
Shakespeare biographies PR2894 - PR2920
Shakespeare's characters (Caliban, Hamlet, comic characters, etc.) PR2989
Shakespeare criticism and interpretation (general) PR2965 - PR2979
Shakespeare authorship (who was he? who wrote the plays really?) PR2937 - PR2961
Shakespeare dictionaries PR2892
Shakespeare film and video adaptations (criticism) PR3093
Shakespeare handbooks PR2895 - PR2898
Shakespeare comedies (criticism) PR2981
Shakespeare histories (criticism) PR2982
Shakespeare humor and satire PR2994
Shakespeare's influence PR2965 - PR2971
Shakespeare's knowledge and learning PR2903
Shakespeare's language PR3072 - PR3088
Shakespeare and religion PR3011 - PR3012
Shakespeare's political and social views PR3017 - PR3024
Shakespeare—stage history PR3091 - PR3112
Shakespeare tragedies (criticism) PR2983
Shakespeare poetic works (criticism) PR2984
 

My Profile

Profile ImageChristine Ruotolo, Librarian for English


Contact Info:
Alderman Library
University of Virginia
434-982-2652
Send Email

Subjects:
English

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait