Bestsellers Guide ENEC312: Later 18th Century Literature ENEC482: Literature of Houses ENGN482B: Ethnic American Drama ENLT201: Intro to Literary Studies ENLT212: Masterpieces of English Lit ENLT214: Southern Literature ENLT223: United States of Poetry ENLT224: Irish Drama, 20th c. ENLT224: Studies in Drama ENLT252: Writing Women's Lives ENNC/CPLT482: Turn of the Century Lit ENNC352: Lives of the Victorians ENSP645: Journey in Africa 
AMST2500: Language in the U.S.ENCR8100: Intro to Literary Research ENGL4998: Distinguished Majors ENLT2524: Pulitzer in the 21st CenturyENLT2547: Black Writers in America ENLT2550: Shakespeare in Place and SpaceENLT2555: Disability in the 20th C. NovelENMC4500: African-American Drama
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

English Language & Literature  Tags: english literature databases prose poetry fiction criticism  

A guide to doing research in English language and literature at the University of Virginia Library.
Last update: Oct 22nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/english  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ENLT2555: Disability in the 20th C. Novel            Print Page
  
 

Get help with your research

Don't hesitate to contact me at any time for help with your research for this class, or any of your other classes.  If I'm not available, you can contact a reference librarian using our Ask a Librarian page.

 
 

General searching tips

  • Choose the right keywords for your search.  Say you're interested in literary depictions of depression. You might start by searching on the terms literature and depression, then make the terms more specific (american literature) or less specific (mental illness), based on your results.  Consider synonyms: for example, when searching for movies, don't forget to search for film or cinema as well.  Almost all databases support Boolean searching, which is simply the ability to combine search terms using "and" and "or". 
  • Know what truncation symbols are, and how to use them.  Most search tools provide a truncation symbol, which stands in for any letter(s) that might come after a search term.  For example, in the Virgo catalog, the truncation symbol is the dollar sign ($), and a search for disabilit$ will find the terms disability and disabilities.  Most other databases use * as the truncation symbol, instead of the $. 
  • When you find a good source, use it to find other good sources.  Use the subject terms and keywords associated with an item to find other items on the same topic.  Scholarly books and articles will have bibliographies and footnotes that you can mine for additional resources.
 

Finding library materials about literature and/or disability studies

Use VIRGO, the U.Va. Library’s online catalog, to find books on your topic.  The Details button will show you publication information about the book, and the A Look Inside tab will often provide a detailed table of contents.

Sample searches:    

virginia woolf [author] (for works by the author)
virginia woolf [subject] (for works about the author
'one flew over the cuckoos nest' [title]
people with disabilities in literature [subject]
Truncation: postcolonia$ for postcolonial, postcolonialism, etc.
Booleans: disabled or handicapped; hemingway and disability

You can also try out VIRGObeta, the new library catalog currently under development. VIRGObeta features relevance ranking, faceted browsing, and many other improvements.

 

Finding basic information about an author

Literature Resource Center is a great place to begin research on a specific author. It includes full-text articles from the Dictionary of Literary BiographyContemporary Authors (great sources!) and other biographical and critical compilations about authors, along with reference articles & citations.

 

Finding scholarly journal articles about your specific topic

Start by searching the MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB), the most comprehensive resource for finding scholarly articles (as well as books and dissertations) about literature in all languages.  It indexes the broadest range of literary sources (including over 4,000 journals), but it is not a full-text resource, meaning that you can only search the description of an article, rather than the text of the article.  To get the full text of an article, click on “Find article @ UVa Libraries”, or look up the journal title in VIRGO. 

Academic Search Complete is a huge interdisciplinary database covering all subjects.  Because disability studies touches upon many disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, you will find many different perspectives on the subject in this database.  It will return scholarly articles, as well as articles in popular magazines and newspapers.  Most of the articles cited are available in full text.


As you move deeper into your topic, and begin looking for resources that discuss themes, techniques, or subjects related to it, you may want to try searching some additional full-text databases:

Project Muse provides full-text searching of recent articles from major scholarly journals, including about 120 journals about literature.  Not as comprehensive as MLAIB, but the full-text search will do a better job of picking up matches for specific themes or subjects.  Articles are immediately available as PDFs.

JSTOR
contains back issues (usually five years old or older) of significant scholarly journals in many subjects, including language and literature.  Like Project Muse, JSTOR is not as comprehensive as the MLAIB, but offers the advantages of full-text searching and instant access to PDFs.

 

My Profile

Profile ImageChristine Ruotolo, Librarian for English


Contact Info:
Alderman Library
University of Virginia
434-982-2652
Send Email

Subjects:
English

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait