More Information
New Titles: British Lit

Loading RSS Feed...
New Titles: American Lit

Loading RSS Feed...
New Titles: General Lit

Loading RSS Feed...
Best Databases for English Language & Literature
Article Finders
- MLA Bibliography Best online index to scholarly articles in the literature of modern languages. Journal articles and multi-author works are listed. Coverage from 1920 to the present.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature [ABELL] Indexes "monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world." Coverage from 1920 to 2000. Good supplement to MLA.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) One of the most current interdisciplinary journal indexes available. Not only a good index for articles and book reviews in the humanities, but also the place to discover who has been cited by others. Coverage from 1981 to the present.
- PIO: Periodicals Index Online Indexes thousands of humanities and social science journals back to their date of inception, as far back as the late 18th c. in some cases. Provides links to full text via JSTOR and Project Muse where available, as well as page images for some journals.
- Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 Indexes articles from 43 important British periodicals. Includes author attributions for articles that were originally published anonymously or pseudonomously.
- Academic Search Complete Large general database of articles from scholarly and popular journals and a few newspapers on many topics.
- JSTOR Journal Storage Project Older issues of scholarly journals, from the start to 3-5 years ago. Use Subject Guides to find newer articles. Periodicals Archive Online has 400 similar journals.
- MUSE Searchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.
All-Purpose Literature Databases
- Literature Online The "Criticism and Reference" search includes ABELL citations and references from articles and books. Many cited journals are available in full text. LION also includes the full text of many works of American and British literature.
- Literature Resource Center Includes the full text of articles from the Dictionary of Literary Biography and other biographical and critical compilations about authors, along with journal articles and book chapters about literary works and topics.
Full Text Literature Collections
- Early English Books Online
Facsimile images of virtually every text published in English before 1700, including books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, calendars and other rich primary sources in all subjects. Records are linked to the corresponding PDF page images. - Eighteenth Century Collections Online Page images of texts published during the 18th c. (mostly British, although some American works are included). Includes complete literary works by major authors like Fielding, Pope, and Swift, as well as ephemeral publications such as pamphlets & sermons.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans Based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography, this database includes complete bibliographical citations for American imprints from 1639-1800, and links to page images of the books. Easily browseable by subject, genre, author, and place of publication.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker Continues where Series I leaves off, providing coverage from 1801 to 1819.
- Granger's World of Poetry Over 250,000 full text poems, categorized and searchable by gender, language, nationality, and poetic form. Allows users to create anthologies of poems for use in the classroom, and to compare two poems side by side.
- Women Writers' Project Writing by women from the Renaissance through the first half of the 19th century.
- North American Theatre Online A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of American and Canadian Theater. Full-text plays from the Asian American Drama and Black Drama collections, many unpublished elsewhere, are available here.
- The Dictionary of Old English Electronic Corpus The Dictionary of Old English Electronic Corpus "is a complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts". The corpus includes over 3,000 fully searchable texts, encoded in TEI.
Full Text Newspapers and Periodicals
- LexisNexis The standard resource for relatively recent full-text articles in newspapers and popular magazines.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers A searchable archive of major US newspapers, dating back to their initial dates of publication: the NY Times (1851-1999), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), the Chicago Tribune (1890-1969), the Washington Post (1877-1987), and the LA Times (1881-1985).
- Times Digital Archive Full-text of the London Times from 1785-1985, including articles, advertisements, illustrations, and photographs.
- America's Historical Newspapers Searchable full text collection of US newspapers from 1690 to 1922.
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers Searchable full text and page images of 48 national and regional British newspapers from the collections of the British Library.
- American Periodicals Series Full text of over 1000 journals published in the US between 1740 and 1900.
- Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition The Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition is a free online edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers. The materials can be searched, browsed as facsimiles, or downloaded as PDFs.
- African-American Newspapers - 1827-1860 Searchable text and page images for 7 African-American newspapers published between 1827 and 1860. For more recent (1985-present) newspapers, see Ethnic NewsWatch.
Other Reference Sources
- WorldCat Over 36 million records from libraries around the world including U.Va. This database is a wonderful source for bibliographic information on books, journals, manuscripts, videos, etc.
- Oxford English Dictionary This edition of the OED is updated quarterly and features both simple and advanced search interfaces.
- English Short Title Catalogue Bibliographic description and library locations for books and pamphlets in English on all subjects printed from 1473 to 1800 anywhere in the world.
- Dissertations and Theses Online Indexes dissertations from 1861 to the present. Abstracts are available from 1980 onward, and dissertations published since 1997 are available in their entirety as PDF files.
- Theatre in Video Streaming video of over 350 produtions of plays from Aeschylus through Shakespeare and Beckett to Sam Shepherd. Also documentaries about productions and interviews with authors, directors, and actors. Viewing requires individual registration.
- NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) NINES is an organization of 19th century scholars. Through its Collex interface, it provides cross-collection searching of aggregated, peer-reviewed online scholarship in British and American nineteenth-century studies.
My Profile |
Christine Ruotolo, Librarian for EnglishOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Alderman Library
University of Virginia
434-982-2652
Send Email
Subjects:
English
![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Alderman Library
University of Virginia
434-982-2652
Send Email
Subjects:
English
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait