Best Database Choices for Tibetan Studies
All Tibetan Studies Databases
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials Lists articles on all aspects of religious studies from journals in many disciplines. Includes citations to book chapters and to book reviews. ATLASerials adds the full text of many journals.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies Lists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews.
- Dissertations & Theses: Full Text Full text (PDF) of most dissertations from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on at US and some other universities. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
- Historical Abstracts Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
- JSTOR Journal Storage Project Full-text backfiles of many scholarly journals, usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. Humanities and social science articles are also listed in Periodicals Index Online and Periodicals Archive Online which add 400 similar journals.
- LexisNexis Academic News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
- Periodicals Archive Online: PAO Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s. These journals with links to JSTOR and through Find@UVa to other collections are also indexed in Periodicals Index Online.
- Periodicals Index Online: PIO - 1665-present Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals. Includes links to full text of articles in Periodicals Archive Online and in humanities and social science titles at JSTOR.
- Web of Knowledege / Web of Science Includes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-) Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
- WorldCat: OCLC Online catalog of books and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide as catalogued by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).
Subject Guides |
Philip McEldowneyContact Info:
Alderman Library 2nd Floor
434-924-4987
Send Email
Subjects:
Anthropology, eastern Religious Studies, Tibetan Studies, Middle East and South Asian Languages, History of South Asia
Alderman Library 2nd Floor
434-924-4987
Send Email
Subjects:
Anthropology, eastern Religious Studies, Tibetan Studies, Middle East and South Asian Languages, History of South Asia
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait