Library Starting Points
Fulltext Databases for finding articles
- Business Source Complete 1886-present Large database on business topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Includes scholarly journals plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, company profiles...
- CQ Researcher - 1991-present In depth reports on selected issues in the news with lists of recommended books and articles.
- CQ Weekly - 1983-present In depth coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering.
- EconLit International coverage of economics in journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews.
- Factiva Company and business information from Dow Jones and articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals as well as news photographs from Reuters News Service. Logout at the end of a session to avoid problems connecting the next time. Use * as the wildcard
- JSTOR Older issues of scholarly journals, from the start to 3-5 years ago. Use Subject Guides to find newer articles. Periodicals Archive Online has 400 similar journals.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic News and business information from sources around the world; statistics, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
Data Collections for Economists for finding data & datasets
- American Factfinder Geographically detailed data on population, housing, and business from the U.S. Census Bureau
- Bureau of Labor Statistics Data Data on labor, employment, and industry for the nation and states
- Census Bureau Economic Programs Statistics on business, labor, and employment for the U.S.
- DataFerrett/TheDataWeb Access tool for data archive of major federal panel datasets including the Consumer Expenditure Survey, Current Population Survey, several health surveys, and the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP) (download required)
- Earthtrends - World Resources Institute Data from many different sources relating to environmental and economic development, and social trends around the world. Earthtrends is a product of the World Resources Institute.
- Economagic Ready access to time series data – manipulation, charting, forecasting, etc.
- Energy Information Administration - US Department of Energy This website provides energy production, price, import,amd export data for the United States and other countries. Types of energy for which data is available include petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, nuclear, and renewable and alternative fuels.
- Federal Reserve Board Statistics Data and statistics related to banking and finance
- International Financial Statistics Database Time series of basic economic indicators for almost 100 countries
- ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) World’s largest archive of social science datasets
- IPUMS-CPS IPUMS-CPS is an integrated set of data from 1962-2003 of the March Current Population Survey (CPS). The CPS is a monthly U.S. household survey conducted jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The March survey includes questions relating to income. IPUMS-CPS is microdata - it provides information about individual persons and households.
- IPUMS - USA b> The Integrated Public Use Microdata Sample USA project provides access to microdata samples of the American population drawn from federal censuses of population and housing. Data are available from the decennial censuses of 1850 to 2000. IPUMS allows you to create downloadable subsets by geography, year, or variable.
- Lexis Statistical Statistical information of all kinds, current and historical, US and international.
- Mergent Horizon Find a company's customers, competitors, suppliers, and partners; run comparisons of companies in the same product group; find FDA reports on healthcare companies.
- National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Limited archive of economic & related data sets associated with agency
- Office of Trade and Industry Information Data on imports and exports to/from the U.S. and states, incl. a link to TradeStats Express
- SourceOECD Access to publications and statistics produced by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development – 30 member countries committed to democratic government and a free market economy. Use stat tab
- Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web Comprehensive list of links to online statistical sources for the US Government and other nations
- UNData Over 400 data series for 279 countries
- UNCTAD Data on foreign direct investment
- World Development Indicators (WDI) Database 54 series for over 200 countries, focusing on the developing world – 2000 and forward
Your Librarian |
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait