Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Economics  Tags: economics data international_economics  

How to get started in economics research. Includes recommendations for finding articles, data, books, etc.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/economics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

PLIR 4500             Print Page
  

Your Librarian

Esther Onega
Contact Info:
Alderman Library, Room 531
434-924-1011
Send Email

Subjects:
Economics

Library Starting Points

 
 

OneSearch for Economics

        

Search for books and articles in this box

This Economics OneSearch will find articles from Business Source Complete, EconLit, FactivaAcademic Search Complete, LexisNexis Academic, and VIRGO: UVa Libraries Catalog.
 

International & FDI Data Sources

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)

DataFerrett/TheDataWeb

Access tool for data archive of major federal panel datasets including the Consumer Expenditure Survey, Current Population Survey, several health surveys, and the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP) (download required).

Earthtrends - World Resources Institute

Data from many different sources relating to environmental and economic development, and social trends around the world. Earthtrends is a product of the World Resources Institute.

Energy Information Administration - US Department of Energy

This website provides energy production, price, import,amd export data for the United States and other countries. Types of energy for which data is available include petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, nuclear, and renewable and alternative fuels.

Economagic

A collection of more than 100,000 economic time series that can be manipulated to produce forecasts, regression analyses and charts or downloaded to Excel spreadsheets.

Eurostat

Statistical data from the European Union.

Federal Reserve Board Statistics

Data and statistics related to banking and finance.

International Finance Corporation

Fosters private sector investment in developing nations. Website contains links to other organizations and data.

International Financial Statistics Database

Time series of basic economic indicators for almost 100 countries.

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

World’s largest archive of social science datasets.

LexisNexis Statistical

Statistical information of all kinds, current and historical, US and international.

Mergent Horizon

Find a company's customers, competitors, suppliers, and partners; run comparisons of companies in the same product group; find FDA reports on healthcare companies.

Mergent Online

Information on over 35,000 current and former publicly traded companies, both from the US and from around the world. Company histories and over 200,000 annual reports in pdf, 30 years of stock prices, etc.

Nation Master

Limited archive of economic & related data sets associated with agency.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

Limited archive of economic & related data sets associated with agency.

Office of Trade and Industry Information

Data on imports and exports to/from the U.S. and states, including a link to TradeStats Express.

SourceOECD

Access to publications and statistics produced by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development – 30 member countries committed to democratic government and a free market economy. Use statistics tab. Many series download in Excel format.

Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web

Comprehensive list of links to online statistical sources for the US Government and other nations.

United Nations data:

  • UN Data - Over 400 data series for 279 countries
  • UNCTAD -  Data on foreign direct investment
  • UNIDO - International data by ISIC code

University of Michigan Library: Statistical Resources on the Web

Comprehensive list of links to online statistical sources by subject.

World Development Indicators (WDI) Database

54 series for over 200 countries, focusing on the developing world – 2000 and forward.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait