Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Economics  Tags: economics data international_economics  

How to get started in economics research. Includes recommendations for finding articles, data, books, etc.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/economics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

International Economics            Print Page
  
 

U.S. Government Agencies

Export.gov

designed for the business person, includes trade leads and market research.

U.S. International Trade Administration

(exports) helps U.S. businesses select commodities and markets, ensures access to international markets as required by trade agreements, and protects against unfair competition.

U.S. International Trade Commission

an independent, nonpartisan, quasi-judicial federal agency that provides trade expertise to both the legislative and executive branches of government, determines the impact of imports on U.S. industries, and directs actions against certain unfair trade practices, such as patent, trademark, and copyright infringement.

U.S. Office of Trade and Economic Analysis

trade data (including state data), trade analysis, and industry information.

U.S. Trade Representative

responsible for developing and implementing trade policies which promote world growth, and create new opportunities for American businesses, workers, and agricultural producers. This site contains information about trade agreements and policy.

U.S. Trade and Development Agency

a foreign assistance agency that delivers its program commitments through overseas grants, contracts with U.S. firms, and the use of trust funds at several multilateral development bank groups. Seeks to establish a favorable trading environment.

Climate Change

  • Stern Review on the Economics of Climate Change

      
      
    The first half of the Review focuses on the impacts and risks arising from uncontrolled climate change, including costs and opportunities. The second half examines the national and international policy challenges of moving to a low-carbon global economy.
 
 

Background Information

Country Commercial Guides [from the U.S. Department of State] - 1996-2001

Later guides are accessible here.

Basic explanatory guides from the Census Bureau.

Code Classifications: The basics - an explanation of the hierarchy.
Guide to Foreign Trade Statistics - Includes conversion table (from reported units of quantity to U.S. harmonized units of quantity), country groupings and reference aids.

Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices.

Paper copies available in Alderman Gov Docs U.S Y 4.F 76/1:C 83/3/; or online (1993-2001). Congress abolished these reports in 2002. Reports include information on exchange rate policies, significant barriers to U.S. exports and investment, debt management policies, structural policies and worker rights for countries with whom the U.S. has significant economic or trade relationships.

Handbook of North American Industry. 1999. Darden Index Tables (Ref Room) HF1746 .H37 1999

Part 1 is an overview of NAFTA while part 2 covers the major North American industries as defined by SIC Code (2, 3, and 4 digit). Statistics generally cover the mid-1990s and include number of establishments, value, employment, and earnings. Also try: Encyclopedia of American Industries.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of International Trade and Finance. Clemons Ref HF1373 .G57 1994

Use this for definitions.

National Trade Data Bank

Global trade opportunity leads, current exchange rates, current and historical trade leads, and market and country research.

Trade Policy Agenda. Alderman Gov Docs U.S. PREX 9.11 (1989-2002) and online (2001-)

Reports on trade barriers (tariff and non-tariff) on a country by country basis for nations trading with the United States. Includes import policies; standards, testing, labeling, and certification; government procurement; export subsidies; lack of intellectual property protection; sevices barriers; investment barriers; anticompetitive practices with trade effects tolerated by foreign governments; and trade restrictions affecting electronic commerce.

U.S. Industry and Trade Outlook. Alderman Gov Docs U.S. C 61.48 (1998-2000)

An industry by industry overview of the U.S. economy. Contains some statistics.

 

International Agencies

U.N. Conference on Trade and Development

established in 1964, the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) aims at the development-friendly integration of developing countries into the world economy.

International Trade Center

the technical cooperation agency of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) and the World Trade Organization (WTO) for operational, enterprise-oriented aspects of trade development.

World Trade Organization

the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business. Also has country trade profiles and country trade policy reviews. Also available is Understanding the WTO.

World Customs Organization

is responsible for interpretation and application of the Harmonized System (HS) of trade classification, and updates to the classification system. Use this site to find a country's tariffs.

European Union in the U.S.

a wealth of information, including stats on EU trade with the 50 U.S. states. Look at the sitemap for specific topics and links. Also includes European Union's trade policy.

Latin American Trade Network

includes working papers, briefs, and reports.

Northwestern University National Governments' Departments List

Use this to search for a foreign government's Department of Trade.

 

Your Librarian

Esther Onega


Contact Info:
Alderman Library, Room 537
434-924-1011
Send Email

Subjects:
Economics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait