Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Economics  Tags: economics data international_economics  

How to get started in economics research. Includes recommendations for finding articles, data, books, etc.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/economics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Data Sources            Print Page
  

Other U.Va. Resources

  • Scholars' Lab Digital Resources  
      
    The Scholars' Lab caters to the research, digitization, and online editing needs of faculty and students in the humanities and social sciences. Staffed with friendly, expert consultants.

Survey Sources

  • American Soldier Surveys  
    The Scholars' Lab's American Soldier Surveys database provides access to surveys of American troops conducted by the Army during WWII.
  • Harris Interactive - The Harris Poll  
    The Harris Poll is a weekly column on the Harris Interactive Inc. website which is collected both by telephone and online surveys. Subjects of these polls include politics, science and technology, the economy, healthcare, foreign affairs, sports and entertainment, and lifestyles.
  • Polling the Nations  
    Text of and responses to over 35,000 survey questions from over 14,000 polls taken in the US and 80 other countries since 1986.
  • U.Va. Institutional Assessment & Studies  
    IAAS collects, tabulates and distributes assessment data which is collected from surveys, the University's mainframe computer systems, and other sources.
 
 

Statistical Economics Databases and Data Sources

American Factfinder

Geographically detailed data on population, housing, business and government from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Bureau of Labor Statistics Data

Data on labor, employment, and industry for the nation and states.

Census Bureau Economic Programs

Statistics on business, labor, employment for the U.S.

DataFerrett/TheDataWeb

Access tool for data archive of major federal panel datasets including the Consumer Expenditure Survey, Current Population Survey, several health surveys, and the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP) (download required).

Earthtrends - World Resources Institute

Data from many different sources relating to environmental and economic development, and social trends around the world. Earthtrends is a product of the World Resources Institute.

Energy Information Administration - US Department of Energy

This website provides energy production, price, import,amd export data for the United States and other countries. Types of energy for which data is available include petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, nuclear, and renewable and alternative fuels.

Economagic

A collection of more than 100,000 economic time series that can be manipulated to produce forecasts, regression analyses and charts or downloaded to Excel spreadsheets.

Federal Reserve Board Statistics

Data and statistics related to banking and finance.

International Finance Corporation

Fosters private sector investment in developing nations. Website contains links to other organizations and data.

International Financial Statistics Database

Time series of basic economic indicators for almost 100 countries.

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

World’s largest archive of social science datasets.

IPUMS - CPS

IPUMS-CPS is an integrated set of data from 1962-2003 of the March Current Population Survey (CPS). The CPS is a monthly U.S. household survey conducted jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The March survey includes questions relating to income. IPUMS-CPS is microdata - it provides information about individual persons and households.

IPUMS-USA

The Integrated Public Use Microdata Sample USA project provides access to microdata samples of the American population drawn from federal censuses of population and housing. Data are available from the decennial censuses of 1850 to 2000. IPUMS allows you to create downloadable subsets by geography, year, or variable.

LexisNexis Statistical

Statistical information of all kinds, current and historical, US and international.

Nation Master

Limited archive of economic & related data sets associated with agency.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

Limited archive of economic & related data sets associated with agency.

Office of Trade and Industry Information

Data on imports and exports to/from the U.S. and states, including a link to TradeStats Express.

SourceOECD

Access to publications and statistics produced by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development – 30 member countries committed to democratic government and a free market economy. Use statistics tab. Many series download in Excel format.

Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web

Comprehensive list of links to online statistical sources for the US Government and other nations.

United Nations data:

  • UN Data - Over 400 data series for 279 countries
  • UNCTAD -  Data on foreign direct investment
  • UNIDO - International data by ISIC code

University of Michigan Library: Statistical Resources on the Web

Comprehensive list of links to online statistical sources by subject.

USDA Economic Research Service Data Sets

The Economic Research Service (ERS) is a primary source of economic information and research from the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The ERS provides handy state fact sheets from 1980 to the present.

World Development Indicators (WDI) Database

54 series for over 200 countries, focusing on the developing world – 2000 and forward.

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageEsther Onega


Contact Info:
Alderman Library, Room 531
434-924-1011
Send Email

Subjects:
Economics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait