Tips
Off Grounds? Most of these databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information | Information for the iPhone/iPod Touch
Using a mobile device? Smartphone, PDA, iPodTouch? See Mobile Access to UVa Library Information (Mobile version: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/print_content.php?&pid=82435)
Journal Articles. Clicking on
will tell you if UVa has an online version of the article or let you look the journal up in Virgo.
D
- DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index - 1973-present Find articles from design and craft journals and newspapers including news items, conference reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews. Also includes a directory of design and craft journals with descriptions.
- Dance in Video Dance productions and documentaries covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance in the 20th century. Addtional titles will be added.
- Database of Recorded American Music: DRAM Recordings of music by American composers and artists. Most of the recordings are US art music from the 20th century, but there are also collections of jazz, folk, and popular music covering particular genres and periods.
- Declassified Documents Reference System - 1940-1979 Searchable collection of over 70,000 scanned declassified U.S. documents from the 1940s to the 1970s taken from presidential libraries, the CIA, the FBI and other agencies. Covers the Cold War, Vietnam, the civil rights movement and other events.
- Defense Technical Information Center - DTIC Online Search for publicly acessible infromation in the Technical Reports database of the Defense Technical Information Center and the Web sites of the Department of Defense.
- Design and Applied Arts Index: DAAI - 1973-present Find articles from design and craft journals and newspapers including news items, conference reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews. Also includes a directory of design and craft journals with descriptions.
- Diary Research: A Guide to Selected Library and Web Resources Emphasis is on US and some British sources.
- Dictionary of American Biography (DAB) Long essays on almost 20,000 figures from US history. DAB is included in History Resource Center.
- Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds Information about over 101,000 representative organometallic, inorganic, and coordination compounds, including formulae, chemical structures, CAS Registry Numbers, synthesis, physical properties, and key literature citations
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Now a part of Literature Resource Center, DLB traces the lives and careers of selected authors, critics, screenwriters, journalists, scholars, and publishers from all eras and genres, with lists of recommended books and articles about them.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Lives of British persons from the earliest times to the end of the 20th century. NOTE: our access is limited; please click the LOGOUT link when done.
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas Survey of the history of Western thought and culture. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of an important idea.
- Digital National Security Archive - 1985-present Over 35,000 declassified documents used in foreign policy decision-making by the U.S. government. Includes some photographs. These documents have been gathered since 1985 through the use of the Freedom of Information Act by the National Security Archive.
- Dissertations & Theses: Full Text - 1861-present Full text (PDF) of most dissertations from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on at US and some other universities. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
- Documenta Catholica Omnia Documents, mostly in Latin, from the history of the Catholic Church. This growing collection includes the writings of the popes, documents from church councils, and Migne's Patrologia Graeca and Patrologia Latina.
- Documenting the American South Primary sources that document the cultural history of the American South from the Southern point of view. Includes diaries, autobiographies, travel accounts, titles about slavery, and regional literature. Emphasis is on the 19th century.
- Dyabola - 1956-present Search for book and journal articles on classical and early medieval art and archaeology. Other databases cover specific archaeological projects and reception of classical art in early modern Europe. Click in the box for "IP-Access," then on START.
Reserves & UVaCollab
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait