Tips
Off Grounds? Most of these databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information | Information for the iPhone/iPod Touch
Using a mobile device? Smartphone, PDA, iPodTouch? See Mobile Access to UVa Library Information (Mobile version: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/print_content.php?&pid=82435)
Journal Articles. Clicking on
will tell you if UVa has an online version of the article or let you look the journal up in Virgo.
E
- Early American Fiction - 1789-1850 583 volumes (440 titles) by 80 authors of early American fiction. Also searchable with other texts in LION.
- Early American Fiction 1789–1875 875 novels and short stories by Alcott, Melville, Stowe, Twain and others. Use LiON to search with other texts.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 Searchable full text with page images of books published in 17th- and 18th-century America.Browsable by genre, subject, author, printer, place of publication, and language. See also Early English Books Online and Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 Searchable full text with page images of books published in early 19th-century America. The collection can also be browsed by genre, subject, author, printer, place of publication, and language.
- Early American Newspapers, Series I. 1689-1879 Now known as America's Historical Newspapers: 1690-1922
- Early English Books Online: EEBO - 1475-1700 Every significant work published in English from 1475 to 1700. Searchable text and page images of books, pamphlets, prayer books, proclamations, almanacs, calendars,etc. in all subjects. See also Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.
- Early English Prose Fiction - 1500-1700 Over 200 complete prose novels and stories from the period 1500 to 1700, by writers from the British Isles. Also searchable with other texts in LION.
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts - 1971-present Search for articles and research reports relating to earthquake engineering and hazard mitigation. Most citations include abstracts
- ebrary Over 40,000 recent e-books from university presses and other scholarly publishers. Individual titles are listed in Virgo. NOTE: Printing and annotating require onetime download of a small client program. Create account for more options.
- Ebsco Electronic Journals Service Large database listing articles from many publishers, usually with links to full text.
- EBSCOHost Databases Over 40 databases of journal articles, books, and other documents in many subject areas. Menu allows searching multiple databases at the same time
- EbscoHost Databases Mobile Just enter a term in the search box and search 27 frequently used databases or select "Choose Databases" to search others.
- ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collection Online - 1701-1800 Searchable full text and page images for books, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, etc in any language from the British Isles and North America, and in English from the rest of the world. See also Early American Imprints.
- Ecology Abstracts - 1974-present Current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines. Includes book reviews.
- EconLit - 1969-present International coverage of economics in journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews.
- Economagic A collection of more than 100,000 economic time series that can be manipulated to produce forecasts, regression analyses and charts or downloaded to Excel spreadsheets.
- Economia y Negocios - 1981-present Covers business periodicals in Spanish and Portuguese published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere.
- Editions de Physique Full-text of physics journals published by Editions de Physique, including some titles on optics and materials science.
- EdITLib Digital Library for Information Technology and Education Get articles from journals and proceedings published by the Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education on all aspects of educational technology and e-learning.
- Education Full Text - 1983-present Search for articles and reviews from English-language periodicals and yearbooks about all aspects of education. From 1994 has abstracts, from 1996 has full text of major articles from selected journals. See Education Index Retro for 1929-1983.
- Education Index Retro 1929-1983 Search for articles about all aspects of education from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published before 1984. See Education Full Text for coverage 1983-present.
- Education Research Complete Large database covering journal articles, conference papers and some books on all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
- Education Research Complete - Mobile
- EEBO: Early English Books Online 1475-1700 Every significant work published in English from 1475 to 1700. Searchable text and page images of books, pamphlets, prayer books, proclamations, almanacs, calendars,etc. in all subjects. See also Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.
- eHRAF WorldCultures A searchable, full-text collection of ethnographic and other texts on cultures and societies around the world. Produced by the Human Relations Area Files. Old title: eHRAF Collection of Ethnography.
- Ei Compendex*Plus A large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews.
- Eighteeenth Century Collection Online: ECCO - 1701-1800 Searchable full text and page images for books, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, etc in any language from the British Isles and North America, and in English from the rest of the world. See also Early American Imprints.
- Eighteenth-Century Fiction - 1700-1780 77 works by British novelists. Use LiON to search with other texts. Also see ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collection Online.
- Electronic Text Center - UVA Library The UVa Electronic Text Center's holdings include over 51,000 on- and off-line books and other texts in twelve languages, with more than 350,000 related images (book illustrations, covers, manuscripts, newspaper pages, page images, museum objects, etc.).
- Electronics and Communications Abstracts - 1961-present Search for publications on such topics as circuits, components, photonics, telecommunications and telecommunications equipment.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica Comprehensive encyclopedia with over 21,000 entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion
- Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics Search the full text or browse topics. including cosmology, archeoastronomy, instrumentation, space missions, solar system, stars, and galaxies.
- Encyclopedia of Education Biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations; and a collection of documents including education related legislation, international treaties and testing methods. Coverage is international.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam Comprehensive encyclopedia of Islamic religion and of the culture and history of the Islamic regions. Click on "Login" to enter. Requires special fonts that can be downloaded from the site.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Lengthy overview articles on many aspects of life sciences.
- Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems: EOLSS 16 interlinked encyclopedias to show "transdisciplinary aspects of the relationship between nature and human society." Covers topics in social sciences and humanities as well the life, physical, and applied sciences.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law Online Provides global and regional perspectives on central topics in international law with articles written by international legal scholars and practitioners.
- Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics The articles consider both the professional ethics of science and technology and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society.
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, including Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Articles on each country detail its population, economy and government
- Energy Citations Database - 1948-present Scientific and technical research results on topics of interest to the Department of Energy, including citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
- EngNetBase Handbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in the Virgo Library Catalog.
- Engineered Materials Abstracts - 1953-present Lists articles, dissertations, technical reports, etc. on all aspects of polymers, ceramics, and composites.
- Engineering Village Combines the databases Compendex, Inspec, Inspec Archive, and NTIS with one search interface.
- English Poetry Poems in English by writers from the British Isles and by poets from Australia, New Zealand, and America. Use LiON to search with other texts.
- English Drama 3900 plays, masques, and entertainments in prose and verse from the Middle Ages to ca. 1900. Works originally written in English plus adaptations and translations. Use LiON to search with other texts.
- English Short Title Catalogue - 1473- 1800 Bibliographic description and library locations for books and pamphlets in English on all subjects printed from 1473 to 1800 anywhere in the world. For full texts see EEBO, ECCO, and Early American Imprints.
- English Verse Drama - 1300 to 1900 More than 2,200 works from the Shrewsbury Fragments of the late thirteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century. Also searchable with other texts from Chadwyck-Healey in LION.
- Environment Complete - 1941-present Journal articles and some books on topics such as agriculture, the ecosystem, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, law, and policy, and urban planning.
- Environment Complete - Mobile
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management - 1967-present Multidisciplinary database of environmental sciences information from over 4000 journals as well as conference proceedings and books.
- EOLSS: Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems 16 interlinked encyclopedias to show "transdisciplinary aspects of the relationship between nature and human society." Covers topics in social sciences and humanities as well the life, physical, and applied sciences.
- ERIC (CSA) - 1966-present
- ERIC (EBSCO) 1966-present Citations and abstracts for education-related journal articles and for conference papers, technical reports, some dissertations, books, government reports, etc. Full text in the ERIC microfiche in the Education Library.
- ERIC (EBSCO) - Mobile
- ERIC Digests - 1966-2003 A search in this database will retrieve short fulltext articles providing an overview of the topic.
- Ethnic NewsWatch - 1985-present Full-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from 200 ethnic, minority, and native publications in the U.S., in English and in Spanish.
- European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies - 1991-2007 Lists articles, books, dissertations, etc. published in Europe and covering all aspects of East Central Europe, Russia, andother states of the former Soviet Union. Adding records ended in 2007.For North American publications on eastern Europe use ABSEES.
- Explorations in Black Leadership Video, audio, and text of interviews with leaders in the black community, conducted chiefly by Julian Bond. These oral histories focus on leadership and the transformational role of the civil rights movement in America.
- Entrez The Life Sciences Search Engine: Searches across databases provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), including GenBank, PubMed, OMIM, and many others.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait