Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

A-Z List of Library Databases 

Find Articles, Look Up Facts, Read Books, Consult Statistical Data
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/az  Print Guide  RSS Updates

M            Print Page
  

Off-Grounds Access

Off Grounds? Most of these databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network.  For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information | Information for the iPhone/iPod Touch

Using a mobile device? Smartphone, PDA, iPodTouch? See Mobile Access to UVa Library Information (Mobile version: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/print_content.php?&pid=82435)

Journal Articles. Clicking on Find@UVa will tell you if UVa has an online version of the article or let you look the journal up in Virgo.

M

  • MADCAD: Building Codes Online  
    A collection of fully-searchable building codes and standards. Includes ICC and NFPA codes, ADA and HUD guidelines, and selected codes for Virginia and Maryland.
  • Magazine Stacks: Tables of Contents of Historical Journals in German and English  
    Search by keyword the tables of contents of most German historical journals, many British titles, and a few titles from France and Spain. Many older journals are included, and most are covered from the first issues.
  • Making of Modern Law, Legal Treatises 1800-1926  
    Searchable full text of casebooks, manuals, pamphlets, letters, speeches, etc. showing the development of US and British law in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
  • MasterFILE Premier  
    Large collection of general interest journals and magazines, plus reference books such as the World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary, biographies, speeches and other documents, country reports, and several hundred thousand photos, maps, and flags.
  • MasterFILE Premier Mobile  
  • Materials Business File  
    Search for publications of all kinds on industry news, international trade data, government regulations, and management issues related to the metals and materials industries. Updated monthly.
  • Materials Research Database with METADEX  
    Search for articles and other publications on all aspects of materials science. Includes the data from METADEX and other more specialized materials databases.
  • MathSciNet - 1940-present  
    MathSciNet is based on the data in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, publications that catalog and review research literature in mathematics.
  • Math Book Collection (Cornell) - 1990-present  
    A collection of 571 classic 19th and early 20th century mathematical works.
  • Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law Online  
    Provides global and regional perspectives on central topics in international law with articles written by international legal scholars and practitioners.
  • MD Consult  
    Includes an extensive collection of more than 35 leading medical books, 48 clinical journals, drug information, over 600 practice guidelines, 2,500 patient handouts, and more.
  • Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts  
    Search for publications of all kinds on mechanical and transportation engineering and related fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, and theoretical mechanics and dynamics.
  • Mechanical Engineering Abstracts  
    Search for publications of all kinds on mechanical engineering, engineering management, and production engineering.
  • MedicLatina  
    Peer-reviewed medical research and investigatory journals from Latin America and Spain, mostly in Spanish.
  • Medline (CSA) - 1966-present  
    All aspects of biomedicine and allied health fields plus other biological, physical and social sciences as they relate to health and medicine. The 3 versions have the same contents, but different interfaces and update schedules.
  • Medline (EBSCO)  
  • Medline (EBSCO) Mobile  
  • Medline (OVID)  
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook  
    Information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests -- educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. The database provides the name of the test, author, publisher, cost, etc.
  • Mergent Horizon  
    Find a company's customers, competitors, suppliers, and partners; run comparisons of companies in the same product group; find FDA reports on healthcare companies.
  • Mergent Online  
    Information on over 35,000 current and former publicly traded companies, both from the US and from around the world. Company histories and over 200,000 annual reports in pdf, 30 years of stock prices, etc.
  • Merriam Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus  
    Handy dictionary and guide to synonyms. Has audio pronunciations and includes selected abbreviations, foreign words and phrases, and names of people and places. Use Oxford English Dictionary for more information.
  • METADEX  
    Comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. To search METADEX with other, related indexes, use Materials Research Index.
  • Middle English Compendium  
    Access to the Middle English Dictionary, a hyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources, including a large collection of Middle English texts.
  • Military & Government Collection  
    Magazines and academic journals providing news about defense issues for all branches of the armed services, army, air forrce, navy, marines. Also includes country reports and relevant government and international documents.
  • Military & Government Collection Mobile  
  • Military Periodicals Index - 1996-present  
    Articles on military and naval art and science, operational warfare, joint planning, national and international politics, and related military history. Covers a wide range of journals but lists only articles relevant to the Joint Forces Staff College.
  • MLA International Bibliography - 1926-present  
    Lists books plus articles and essays from journals and books on literature, linguistics, and folklore. Before 1956 covered only scholarship published in North America. Also searchable in Literature Resource Center.
  • Modern English Collection - 1500-present  
    Fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, letters, newspapers, manuscripts and illustrations from 1500 to the present, arranged for browsing by author's last name or by category of interest. From the UVA Library's E-Text Center.
  • MUSE  
    Searchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.
  • Music & Performing Arts Online  
    Search simultaneously the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)
  • Music in Print  
    Search for music currently in print by genre, instrumentation or using the Master Index.
  • Music Literature: RILM Abstracts 1967-present  
    International musicological bibliography, listing scholarly works in all areas and formats.
  • Music Literature: RILM Abstracts Mobile  
  • Music Online  
    One search for all the recordings in Classical Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound, American Song, African American Song, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook Mobile  
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait