Off-Grounds Access
Off Grounds? Most of these databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information | Information for the iPhone/iPod Touch
Using a mobile device? Smartphone, PDA, iPodTouch? See Mobile Access to UVa Library Information (Mobile version: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/print_content.php?&pid=82435)
Journal Articles. Clicking on
will tell you if UVa has an online version of the article or let you look the journal up in Virgo.
N
- NACSIS Webcat Search catalogs of Japanese libraries. Search interface in English or in Japanese.
- NASA Astrophysics Data System Citations and abstracts of articles in astronomy and physics, with links to published version and to preprints. It is also possible to search the full text of documents scanned for ADS.
- National Academy Press Reports from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, written by leading researchers, on science, health, and engineering.
- National Center for Biotechnology Information: NCBI NCBI provides access to molecular databases such as GenBank with sequencing, structural, and taxonomic data. Also available are literature databases such as PubMed, PubMed Central, and OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man).
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts - 1972-present Lists journal articles, books, reports and other publications on research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control. Published by the Department of Justice.
- National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books Declassified U.S. documents.
- National Technical Information Service:NTIS - 1983-present NTIS contains bibliographic citations and summaries of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports. Now a part of Engineering Village.
- National Trade Data Bank International trade data and export promotion from the U.S. Government. Includes international market research, export opportunities, how-to market guides, and reports on demographic, political, and socio-economic conditions.
- NationMaster An extensive compilation of political, social, economic, environmental, etc. data on nations from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Can map and graphically compare data on countries as well as individual country profiles.
- Naxos Music Library Large collection of classical and world music from the Naxos and Marco Polo labels. Recordings plus descriptive information.NOTE: 1) Please logout at the end of your session. 2) Bookmarks won't work unless "default.asp" is removed from the end of the URL.
- Naxos Music Library - Mobile Download app for iPhone/iTouch.
- NCBI: National Center for Biotechnology Information NCBI provides access to molecular databases such as GenBank with sequencing, structural, and taxonomic data. Also available are literature databases such as PubMed, PubMed Central, and OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man).
- netLibrary Electronic books by university presses and other scholarly publishers, as well as a collection of older titles by major authors. Individual titles are listed in Virgo. Some books require download of a viewer.
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas Survey of the history of Western thought and culture. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of an important idea.
- New York Times 1851-2006 In ProQuest Historical Newspapers, which includes New York Times (1851-2005), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986) and Washington Post (1877-1992). For more recent issues use Factiva
- Newspaper Source Plus Full text of major American newspapers and some foreigh newspapers plus selected atories from other US regional newspapers. Also includes full-text of transcripts for television and radio network news broadcasts.
- Newspaper Source Plus - Mobile
- Newspapers - Access NewspaperArchive Collection of historical newspapers. Although it includes almost 4000 titles, some are available for only a few years. Some international coverage.
- Newspapers - onlinenewspapers.com Easy to use menu to find newspapers from all around the world. Some newspapers are not available full text for free but may be included in databases the Library subscribes to. Use Find@UVa to check.
- NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) NINES is an organization of 19th century scholars. Through its Collex interface, it provides cross-collection searching of aggregated, peer-reviewed online scholarship in British and American nineteenth-century studies.
- Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers Searchable full text and page images of 48 national and regional British newspapers from the collections of the British Library. For The Times see its Digital Archive.
- Nineteenth Century Fiction Selected works by authors from the British Isles. Part of LiON.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Searchable full text and page images of several hundred U.S. newspapers from the 19th century. For additional titles see Historical Newspapers and America's Historical Newspapers: 1690-1922.
- North American Theatre Online Reference work of US and Canadian theatre, with information and pictures for plays and productions; theatres; actors, playwrights, and other people from the Colonial period to the present.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries Searchable full text database of American and Canadian women's letters and diaries written from the Colonial period through 1950.
- NTIS: National Technical Information Service - 1983-present NTIS contains bibliographic citations and summaries of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports. Now a part of Engineering Village.
Reserves & UVaCollab
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait