Off-Grounds Access
Off Grounds? Most of these databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information | Information for the iPhone/iPod Touch
Using a mobile device? Smartphone, PDA, iPodTouch? See Mobile Access to UVa Library Information (Mobile version: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/print_content.php?&pid=82435)
Journal Articles. Clicking on
will tell you if UVa has an online version of the article or let you look the journal up in Virgo.
P
- PAIS International - 1915-present International database for public and social policy. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, reports from organizations and from 1985 abstracts. Newer book entries include tables of contents.
- PAIS International - 1977-present ONLY Search only the more recent entries.
- PAIS Archive 1915-1976 These older years of PAIS contain only English-language articles.
- Palmer's Index to the (London) Times 1790-1905 See instead The Times, Digital Archive 1785-1985.
- PAO: Periodicals Archive Online Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s. These journals with links to JSTOR and through Find@UVa to other collections are also indexed in Periodicals Index Online.
- PapersFirst - 1993-present Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia.
- Past Masters Full-text e-books of classic works in philosophy.
- Patent Search - 1790-present This Google service searches the full text of all US patents and displays them as page images. There are also links to the images at the US Patent Office.
- Patrologia Latina Database The Latin works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to 1216 as published in the first edition of Migne's Patrologia Latina. See Documenta Catholica Omnia for another version and the Patrologia Graeca.
- PBS (Public Broadcasting System) Videos Streaming videos originally broadcast on PBS. Includes several of Ken Burns' series, American Experience, Scientific American Frontiers, and many others. Access requires a NetBadge login. Viewing requires QuickTime.
- (The) Pennsylvania Gazette - 1728-1800 Searchable full text and page images of this most important of early American newspapers.
- PERIÓDICA Find articles in journals from 24 Latin American and Caribbean countries. CLASE covers journals specializing in social sciences and humanities. PERIÓDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.
- Periodicals Archive Online: PAO Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s. These journals with links to JSTOR and through Find@UVa to other collections are also indexed in Periodicals Index Online.
- Periodicals Index Online: PIO - 1665-present Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals. Includes links to full text of articles in Periodicals Archive Online and in humanities and social science titles at JSTOR.
- Perseus Digital Library Selected Greek and Latin texts with related criticism and reference works and a collection of images.
- Philosopher's Index 1940-present Lists and abstracts books and articles in over 300 journals from philosophy and related disciplines.
- Philosopher's Index Mobile
- Physical Education Index 1970-present Publications of all kinds on topics such as kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, dance, fitness tests, sports equipment, sports law, medicine and business, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
- PILOTS Database - 1871-present Medical and public policy issues related to post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
- PIO: Periodicals Index Online - 1665-present Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals. Includes links to full text of articles in Periodicals Archive Online and in humanities and social science titles at JSTOR.
- Plant Science Search for publications of all kinds on plant science, including topics such as pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology.
- Plunkett Research Online Profiles of selected industries with trends, data and news along with reports on companies in the industry.
- PMC: PubMed Central The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
- (Edgar Allan) Poe A collection of his fiction and letters from the UVA Library's E-Text Center
- Poetry Archive Recordings of poets reading their own works. English language poems from the beginnings of recorded sound (Browning, Tennyson) to the present day.
- Poets on Screen Video clips of poets reading their own and also older poems. Part of LiON.
- Political Reference Suite Congressional Quarterly publications: Congress and the Nation, Supreme Court Yearbook, Washington Information Directory, Politics in America, Vital Statistics on American Politics, Historic Documents and Political Handbook of the World.
- Polling the Nations Text of and responses to over 35,000 survey questions from over 14,000 polls taken in the US and 80 other countries since 1986.
- POPLINE Legal, social and health aspects of family planning and population. Includes research in human fertility, contraceptive methods, maternal and child health care, program operation and evaluation, demography and related issues.
- Proceedings Find papers delivered at conferences and workshops of all types.
- Project MUSE Searchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers New York Times (1851-2005), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)and Washington Post (1877-1992). See also Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers and America's Historical Newspapers.
- Springer Protocols Reproducible, laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences from sources such as Methods in Molecular Biology and from journals and laboratory handbooks. Create an account to save your favorites and take notes, or simply download full text.
- PsycARTICLES - 1894-present Full text of articles from 56 psychology journals. Use PsycINFO to search for specific articles.
- PsycARTICLES Mobile
- PsycCRITIQUES - 1995-present Full text of book and film reviews in psychology.
- Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection Searchable full text of 30 psychology journals published by Sage and some associated societies.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - 1965-present Abstracts and full-text of almost 600 journals in psychology and related fields.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection Mobile
- PsycINFO - 1887-present Covers journal articles in more than 30 languages and books in English about psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education.
- PsycINFO Mobile
- Public Broadcasting System (PBS) Videos Streaming videos originally broadcast on PBS. Includes several of Ken Burns' series, American Experience, Scientific American Frontiers, and many others. Access requires a NetBadge login. Viewing requires QuickTime.
- PubMed (National Library of Medicine) - 1950s-present Citations from MedLine and other biomedical articles from the 1950s on. UVa also has direct access to the Medline database through 3 other vendors.
- PubMed Central: PMC The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Reserves & UVaCollab
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait