Off-Grounds Access
Off Grounds? Most of these databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information | Information for the iPhone/iPod Touch
Using a mobile device? Smartphone, PDA, iPodTouch? See Mobile Access to UVa Library Information (Mobile version: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/print_content.php?&pid=82435)
Journal Articles. Clicking on
will tell you if UVa has an online version of the article or let you look the journal up in Virgo.
S
- Safari Books Online Books on all aspects of computers, programming and the Web from such publishers as O'Reilly, Sams, New Riders, Adobe.
- Safety Science and Risk Search for publications of all kinds on public health, safety, and industrial hygiene, including asbestos risk, aviation safety, disaster preparedness, risk management, insurance, and ergonomics.
- Salud en Espanol Evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness including first aid, infant/child care and illnesses, alternative medicine, aging and wellness.
- Science Citation Index - 1970-present
Part of Web of Knowledge/Web of Science. Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited. - ScienceDirect Full text of articles from most journals and some book series published by Elsevier Science.
- Science.Gov Scientific information of all kinds issued by US government agencies.
- ScienceResearch.com Search many public science Web sites and a large selection of journals for topics in the natural, physical and social sciences.
- SciFinder Scholar Provides access to Chemical Abstracts, including the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database. Note: special software is required.
- Scirus A science-specific search engine covering science and engineering journal and conference articles, web pages, dissertations, patents, preprints and technical documents.
- Scitation Physics and engineering journals from the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and other publishers.
- Scitopia.org Search all publications from a group of leading science and technology societies
- Shakespeare - Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare Including The Shakespeare First Folio and various other editions and adaptations of Shakespeare; includes 2,272 color digital facsimiles.
- Si ku quan shu (Wen yuan ge edition)- 四庫全書 Compiled 1773-1782 by edict from Emperor Qianlong, the collection contains 3,460 Chinese works in 36,000 volumes, including history, astronomy, geography, politics, economics, and more. Fully-searchable full-text. Login ID: siku@uva
- SIAM: Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics Journals on applied mathematics, mathematics, systems, and control. Electronic editions are published well ahead of the print versions. Includes book reviews.
- Smithsonian Global Sound World music from Smithsonian Folkways and other labels and from African and South Asian ethnomusicological collections. Part of Music Online.
- Social Explorer Interactive Maps and Reports provide easy access to demographic information about the United States. Data comes from the Census beginning in 1940 and from the Religious Congregations and Membership Study beginning in 1980.
- Social Sciences Search for journal articles in many social science areas including world and US politics, sociology, economics, education, government and social policy, law enforcement.
- Social Sciences Citation Index - 1981-present
Part of Web of Knowledge/Web of Science. Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited. - Social Services Abstracts Search for journal articles on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics: SIAM Journals on applied mathematics, mathematics, systems, and control. Electronic editions are published well ahead of the print versions. Includes book reviews.
- Sociological Abstracts - 1963-present Sociology and related fields. All languages. 2600 scholarly journals. Includes book, book chapter, and conference paper abstracts and book reviews. Updated quarterly.
- Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts Search for publications of all kinds on all aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices along with high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology.
- SourceOECD Full text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
- SPORT Discus with Full Text - 1975-present International database covering sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, coaching, recreation, and more. Includes book reviews.
- SPORT Discus with Full Text Mobile
- SpringerLink Searchable full-text of journals published by Springer and its subsidiaries such as Physica and Birkhäuser in chemistry, geosciences, computer science, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, law, and economics.
- Springer Protocols Reproducible, laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences from sources such as Methods in Molecular Biology and from journals and laboratory handbooks. Create an account to save your favorites and take notes, or simply download full text.
- STAT-USA Includes National Trade Data Bank, Economic Bulletin Board, Global Business Procurement Opportunities, and Bureau of Economic Analysis Economic Information. Ask at a reference desk for login information.
- Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts - 1995-present Descriptive abstracts of journal articles and books on a wide range of topics related to women and gender studies.
- Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832 – 1978 Over 240,000 U.S. Supreme Court documents from the final years of the court’s fourth chief justice, John Marshall, through the early years of the court’s 15th chief justice, Warren Earl Burger.
- Safari Books Online Mobile
Reserves & UVaCollab
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait