Off-Grounds Access
Off Grounds? Most of these databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information | Information for the iPhone/iPod Touch
Using a mobile device? Smartphone, PDA, iPodTouch? See Mobile Access to UVa Library Information (Mobile version: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/print_content.php?&pid=82435)
Journal Articles. Clicking on
will tell you if UVa has an online version of the article or let you look the journal up in Virgo.
W
- Wall Street Journal - 1889-1991 In ProQuest Historical Newspapers, which includes New York Times (1851-2005), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986) and Washington Post (1877-1992). For more recent issues use Factiva
- Washington Post - 1877-1992 In ProQuest Historical Newspapers, which includes New York Times (1851-2005), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986) and Washington Post (1877-1992). For more recent issues use Factiva
- Web of Knowledge / Web of Science
Includes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-) Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited. - Weldasearch Abstracts of publications on all aspects of joining metals, plastics and ceramics; metal and ceramic spraying; thermal cutting, brazing, soldering and related topics.
- Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals (1824-1900) Over 90,000 article records and 11,000 contributor records from 43 important British periodicals. Indexed by scholars with author attributions for articles that were originally published anonymously or pseudonomously.
- What Works What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) gathers studies of the effectiveness of educational interventions (programs, products, practices, and policies) and reports on their strengths and weaknesses.
- Whitaker's Books in Print British books are included in Global Books in Print.
- Wikipedia The free encyclopedia written by volunteers. Often excellent, but verify facts and opinions before using them. The versions in other languages can provide more articles and information.
- WING Short-Title Catalogue - 1641-1700 Included in Early English Books Online.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 A large collection of primary sources, journal articles, and other instructional materials for the history of women in social movements in the U.S.
- Women Writers Works from the seventeenth to twentieth centuries at the UVA Library's E-Text Center.
- Women Writers Online (Brown) Writing by women from the Renaissance through the first half of the 19th century.
- Women's Studies International - 1972-present Find journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses & dissertations, documents and other materials on all aspects of women's studies.
- Women's Studies International - Mobile
- World Almanac Current facts, statistics, biographies on many topics.
- WorldCat: FirstSearch Online listing with locations of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. This version has all WorldCat holdings and provides the full bibliographic citation for each item.
- WorldCat.org Online listing with locations of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. This version also includes articles and has an easy to use interface, but lacks some holdings and some bibliographic information.
- WorldCat.org Mobile App download. More information at http://www.worldcat.org/mobile
- World Development Indicators (WDI) - 1960-present World Bank database provides direct access to more than 700 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2006, where data are available.
- World Education Encyclopedia Detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries.
- World News Connection - 1995-present Information from thousands of foreign media sources: speeches, radio, television, newspapers, periodicals, and books. Includes unclassified military, political, environmental, sociological, scientific and technical data. All translated into English.
- Das Wörterbuch-Netz Includes the first edition of the Grimms' Deutsches Wörterbuch, the Goethe-Wörterbuch, several Middle High German dictionaries and some west German dialect dictionaries. Use Stichwortsuche for a quick lookup of headwords in all the dictionaries.
Reserves & UVaCollab
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait