Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

A-Z List of Library Databases 

Find Articles, Look Up Facts, Read Books, Consult Statistical Data
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/az  Print Guide  RSS Updates

C            Print Page
  

Tips

Off Grounds? Most of these databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network.  For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information | Information for the iPhone/iPod Touch

Using a mobile device? Smartphone, PDA, iPodTouch? See Mobile Access to UVa Library Information (Mobile version: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/print_content.php?&pid=82435)

Journal Articles. Clicking on Find@UVa will tell you if UVa has an online version of the article or let you look the journal up in Virgo.

C

  • CAB Direct 1973-present  
    Find articles, academic books, technical reports, bulletins, and conference proceedings in the life sciences: agriculture, forestry, human health, human nutrition, animal health and the conservation of natural resources.
  • Cambridge Companions Complete Collection  
    Each of the several hundred Cambridge Companions is a collection of introductory essays on aspects of a writer, artist, philosopher, religious thinher, cultural topic or period.
  • Canadian Poetry  
    Poetry of Canadian authors whose works were published up to and including 1900. Use LiON to search with other poetry collections.
  • The Cape Coast Archive  
    Inventory and images of the architecture of the Cape Coast region in Ghana. A project of the Library's Digital Media Archive.
  • Catalogue Collectif de France: CCFR  
    Search simultaneously the catalogs of libraries in France.
  • Catena Digital Archive of Historic Gardens + Landscapes  
    A searchable collection of historic and contemporary images that include plans, engravings, paintings, and photographs for teaching landscape studies.
  • CCH Intelliconnect (formerly “CCH Business and Finance” and “CCH Human Resources/Health, and Medical”)  
    Primary sources, analysis, and daily news updates in securities, banking, trade regulation, product liability and safety, government contracts, information technology, intellectual property, energy, transportation law, employment law, human resources management, payroll, pension/benefits, food and drug law, health law, and safety/OSHA/workers compensation.
  • [Census] Historical Census Browser  
    Examine United States population census data for any census year from 1790 to 1960, producing tables and sorting data by location and by category. Examine selected topics across several censuses. Produce a map of the selected data.
  • Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts 1975-present  
    Search for publications of all kinds on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics.
  • CHANT: CHinese ANcient Texts  
    Provides full text of works from the Pre-Han (pre 220AD) period up to the Six Dynasties (581 AD). Chinese traditional IME is required for input.
  • Chemical Abstracts Service  
    Part of SciFinder Scholar which includes the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service. Access requires the SciFinder software.
  • Chicago Tribune - 1849-1986  
    In ProQuest Historical Newspapers, which includes New York Times (1851-2005), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986) and Washington Post (1877-1992).
  • Children's Literature Comprehensive Database - 1993 - present  
    Information and reviews on children's books, videos and audio books ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults.
  • China Academic Journals (Zhongguo qi kan quan wen shu ju ku) - 1979-Present  
    Over 7,200 Chinese journals in 9 collections. UVa has full text of articles for 2: Literature/History/Philosophy and Economics/Politics/Law, but Science/Engineering, Agriculture, Medicine, Social Science and Information Science are also searchable.
  • China Data Online  
    Includes yearly macro-economic statistics; monthly macro-economic statistics; monthly economic reports; city statistics; county statistics; industrial statistics and various statistical yearbooks.
  • Chinese Text Initiative  
    A project of the UVa Library's Electronic Text Center to make literary texts available.
  • CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online  
    Includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGO's, conference proceedings, current tables of contents and article abstracts from selected journals, and full-text of selected books.
  • CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing, Allied Health Literature - 1982-present  
    Lists articles from English-language journals plus healthcare books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, professional standards, software and audiovisual materials.
  • CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing, Allied Health Literature - Mobile  
  • Civil Engineering Abstracts - 1966-present  
    Search for publications on civil engineering and related fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, and theoretical mechanics and dynamics.
  • Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse  
    Documents and information about civil rights cases in the United States. Topics include child welfare, school desegregation, election/voting rights, immigration, police profiling, conditions in public housing, jails prisons, mental health facilities.
  • The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective - 1860-1865  
    Searchable text and page images from The New York Herald, the Richmond Enquirer, and The Charleston Mercury, published between November 1, 1860 and April 30, 1865, including many battlefield maps and other illustrations.
  • CLASE/PERIÓDICA - Mid 1970s-present  
    Find articles in journals from 24 Latin American and Caribbean countries. CLASE covers journals specializing in social sciences and humanities. PERIÓDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.
  • Classical Music Library  
    Over 50,000 recordings of classical music available for listening. Search or browse for works by composer, performer, instrument, period, etc. Part of Music Online.
  • The Cochrane Library  
    A collection of databases that contain evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Contents include systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
  • CogNet  
    Searchable collection of electronic texts, journals, and reference works for cognitive and brain sciences.
  • Columbia Gazetteer of the World  
    Encyclopedia of geographical places and features profiles every country in the world with information on demography, geography, industry, agriculture, cultural and historical points of interest, transportation, and pronunciations.
  • Columbia Granger's World of Poetry  
    Full text of over 250,000 poems, mostly in English, but also including poems in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Information about and citations from thousands more poems, plus biographies of poets and analyses of poems.
  • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)  
    Includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGO's, conference proceedings, current tables of contents and article abstracts from selected journals, and full-text of selected books.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete - 1915-present  
    Large database of journal articles. Includes biographical information on frequently cited authors
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete - Mobile  
  • Compendex (Ei Compendex*Plus) 1964-present  
    A large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews.
  • Complete Corpus of Old English  
    Over 3,000 different texts in Old English.
  • Computer and Information Systems Abstracts - 1981-present  
    Lists journal articles, conference proceedings, tech reports, patents, books, and industry news on topics such as artificial intelligence, information systems, computer applications/programming, hardware, software engineering and mathematics of computing.
  • Computers & Applied Sciences Complete  
    Journals and other reference sources covering engineering and the business and social aspects of new technology as well as computer theory and systems.
  • Computers & Applied Sciences Complete - Mobile  
  • Conference Papers Index - 1982-present  
    Search for papers and poster sessions presented at scientific meetings. Focus is on the life sciences (including clinical medicine) and on environmental and aquatic sciences.
  • Congressional Universe - 1789-present  
    Full-text information by and about the U.S. Congress: publications, legislative histories of laws, biographical information, and testimony from congressional hearings. Also search the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and National Journal.
  • Consortium of University Research Libraries: COPAC  
    Search simultaneously the catalogs of 24 of the largest university research libraries in the UK and Ireland, plus the British Library and the National Library of Scotland.
  • Consumer Health Complete  
    Medical dictionaries and encyclopedias, image and video collections and works on specific health and wellness topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition, generic and brand-name drugs, children's, men's & women's health.
  • Contemporary Women's Issues - 1992-present  
    International coverage on issues relating to women. Includes book reviews. Updated weekly.
  • Contemporary World Music  
    Growing collection of music from all regions of the world. Part of Music Online.
  • COPAC: Consortium of University Research Libraries  
    Search simultaneously the catalogs of 24 of the largest university research libraries in the UK and Ireland, plus the British Library and the National Library of Scotland.
  • Copper Data Center Database  
    Lists journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, industry news, patents, and books on copper, copper alloys and copper technology. Comprehensive, international coverage since 1965, selective coverage from 1863 to 1964.
  • Cornell University Library Historical Mathematics Monographs  
    A collection of 571 classic 19th and early 20th century mathematical works.
  • Corrosion Abstracts - 1980-present  
    Search for publications of all kinds on general corrosion, testing, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance, and equipment.
  • CQ Political Reference Suite  
    Congressional Quarterly publications on the U.S. government and politics and on world affairs. Emphasis is on recent information, but US document coverage begins in 1972 and legislative histories in 1945.
  • CQ Researcher - 1991-present  
    In depth reports on selected issues in the news with lists of recommended books and articles.
  • CQ Weekly 1983-present  
    In depth coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering.
  • CRCnetBase  
    Searchable full-text of hundreds of reference handbooks in engineering, chemistry, biology, medicine, technology and the environment.
  • CSA Illumina  
    Over 40 databases in many subject areas. Menu allows searching multiple CSA databases at the same time. Mirror Site - use if main site is down.
  • Current Index to Statistics 1975-present  
    International coverage of journals and some books in all areas of statistics including applications, methods, and theory.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait