Anthropology

• *Introduction. My role as Librarian for the Anthropology department: maintain contact with the faculty, undergraduate and graduate students, do training, make purchase requests, develop bibliographies, and preform other related services.

  TODAY: --Pointers to resources. Follow along on your own terminal, except one database

• --Encourage to ask questions as go along, or arise, even general questions
  --email me, pm9k@virginia.edu

  *Location in Shannon - Help and checkout, Reference, Stacks (GN), Periodicals (microfiche, HRAF), Government Docs and Scholars Lab

  *Print reference resources - encyclopedias, journals, monographs

  *The Library Catalog - VIRGO. (Bring up home page and VIRGO)

  --This is a gateway to more than just catalog, databases; Hours, Maps, Subject Guides, Finding a book
  --VIRGO catalog screen, Searching with and (get better results, other databases often use AND)
  --Full record results
  --Use GO BACK.
  Quick Search - for phrase use quotes ""
  --Saving/Email, choices of format, sort, save, print (Don't do it, right now in class)
  Advanced search - helps narrow down.
  Look at bottom for options and boxes to limit
  [The Red Line] for Services (review account, pin changes, renew, etc) and Requests with choices for books, articles, Purchase requests, ILL, etc.
• *VIRGO all databases and Anthropology databases
  --Note about Off grounds access: to make available from home/off-grounds, need to set up proxy account (prompted once a session, easy to do) or UVa Anywhere. See Note at Databases page
  A. Anthropology Plus (WorldCat) Search, save, print, email
  B. Other databases - "Go to Databases."
  Academic Search Complete (Web),
  American History and Life,
  Bibliography of Asian Studies 1971+ (Web),
  Bibliography of Native North Americans (Web),
  Digital Dissertations,
  Historical Abstracts [all the world but North America since 1450],
  Human Relations Area Files (Web),
  Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe,
  Periodicals Contents Index (PCI) online,
  WorldCat (verification for ILL).
  
  OneSearch For Antrhopology, summary, etc.
• *From the Library Home page and Databaeses
  A. Anthropology Guide and databases
  B. Purchase requests.
  C. InterLibrary Services and ILS requests Eg for books, articles, dissertations, etc




*RefWorks:. Access

Evaluation.

*Visit 3rd Floor

A. Periodicals room, newspapers, microfilms - readers and printing, and HRAF
B. Government Docs, such as Smithsonian

Practice time

Maintained by Philip McEldowney
Last update: .
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia