2009Anthropology Issues of Contemporary Europe 2559Class: Transnational East Asia
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Anthropology  Tags: anthropology native_american purchase_requests reserves databases  

Library resources for anthropology
Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/anthropology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  

Tips

More Information


 

Anthropology Info

 

All Anthropology Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  
    Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
  • America History & Life 1964-present  
      
    Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
  • Anthropology Plus 1890-present (Worldcat)  
      
    Find articles, reports, and other materials on social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies 1971-present  
      
    Lists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews.
  • Bibliography of Native North Americans 1500-present  
      
    Lists articles, books and other publications about the native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present. Lists all titles from the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America. Includes book reviews.
  • Digital Dissertations 1980-present  
      
    Full text (PDF) of most dissertations from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on at US and some other universities. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
  • Historical Abstracts 1954-present  
      
    Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, covering articles published in over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. For articles about the US or Canada, see the database, America: History and Life.
  • Human Relations Area Files: eHRAF 1954-present  
      
    Ssearchable, full-text collection of ethnographic and other texts on cultures and societies around the world. Produced by a Yale-based consortium of educational, research, and cultural organizations and government agencies.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
      
    News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
  • Periodicals Index Online: PIO 1665-present  
      
    Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals published 1770-1990s. Includes links to full text of articles in Periodicals Archive Online and in humanities and social science titles at JSTOR.
  • WorldCat  
      
    Online catalog of books and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide as catalogued by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).
 

Subject Guides

Profile ImagePhilip McEldowney
Contact Info:
Alderman Library 2nd Floor
University of Virginia
434-924-4987
Send Email

Subjects:
Anthropology, Religious Studies, History, Tibetan Studies, South Asian Studies, Middle East Studies, Urdu, Hindi, Arabic, and Persian

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait