Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Italian  Tags: italian dante  

Last update: Sep 01st, 2008 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/italian  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  

Tips

More Information

 

Italian Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
  • Book Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences  
      
    This page is maintained by University Library staff to help you find book reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
  • Dissertations & Theses: Full Text 1861-present  
      
    Full text (PDF) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some Canadian, British, and other European universities.
  • JSTOR Journal Storage Project  
      
    Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
  • Literature Resource Center  
      
    Includes the full text of articles from the Dictionary of Literary Biography and other biographical and critical compilations about authors, along with journal articles and book chapters about literary works and topics. Also includes the MLA Bibliography.
  • MLA International Bibliography 1926-present  
      
    Lists books plus articles and essays from journals and books on literature, linguistics, and folklore. Before 1956 covered only scholarship published in North America. Also searchable through Literature Resource Center.
  • Periodicals Archive Online: PAO  
      
    Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s. These journals with links to JSTOR and through Find@UVa to other collections are also indexed in Periodicals Index Online.
  • Periodicals Index Online: PIO 1665-present  
      
    Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s.
  • WorldCat: OCLC  
      
    Online catalog of books and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide as catalogued by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).

Dictionaries

  • Internet Dictionary Project  
      
    Includes an Italian-to-English dictionary as well as an English-to-Italian dictionary. These are very small dictionaries, with a very simple interface. Searches are case-insensitive.

A Selection of Other Resources for Italian

  • The Dartmouth Dante Project  
      
    Searchable full-text database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy - the Commedia
  • Italian Studies Web  
      
    Produced by the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries, this resource provides access to scholarly resources in Italian Studies.
  • Lectura Dantis Online  
      
    A forum for Dante research and interpretation, University of Virginia.
  • Letteratura Italiana  
      
    Complete title is "Antologia (frammentaria) della Letteratura Italiana," from the CRS4 (Center for Advanced Studies, Research and Development in Sardinia).
  • The World of Dante  
      
    A Hypermedia environment for the Study of the Inferno, University of Virginia.

A Selection of Daily News Sources for Italy

Note: the best time to connect to the Italian dailies in Italy on the Web is late afternoon. A faster way to get the daily news is to subscribe to the electronic mailing list: LANGIT@CINECA.BITNET.

 

My Profile

Profile ImageC. Jared Loewenstein, Ph.D. Librarian for Spanish, Italian & Portuguese
Contact Info:
Alderman Library
434-924-4983
434-924-1431 fax
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait