Reference Resources
- Chinese Language Databases - 检索网
- Si ku quan shu for single user - 四庫全書 (單人版) Collection of Chinese classics including 3,460 works (36,000 volumes) on all disciplines. UVa has license for one simultaneous user. ID: sikuuva; PW: siku@uva.
- Si ku quan shu for multiple users - 四庫全書 (多人版) Open URL above with Internet Explorer. Set up proprietary browser. Start each session from the new browser.
- CHANT: Chinese Ancient Texts - 漢達文庫 Provides full text of works from the Pre-Han (pre 220AD) period up to the Six Dynasties (581 AD). Chinese traditional IME is required for input.
- China Data Online - 中国数据在线 Includes (1) yearly macro-economic statistics (2) monthly macro-economic statistics (3) monthly economic reports (4) city statistics (5) county statistics (6) industrial statistics and (7) various statistical yearbooks.
Find Books - 找书
- VIRGO UVa Libraries catalog
- WorldCat Online catalog of books and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide as catalogued by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). To display and search in Asian scripts, set "options" to "Unicode."
- MLA International Bibliography, 1926- Lists books plus articles and essays from journals and books on literature, linguistics, and folklore. For years before 1956, only scholarship published in North America is covered. Also searchable through Literature Resource Center.
- Dissertations & Theses Full Text, 1861- More than 930,000 titles are available in PDF format for immediate free download. Over 2 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats.
Find Journal Articles - 找杂志文章
- CAJ: China Academic Journals - 中国期刊全文数据库, 1994- Full text articles from thousands of Chinese academic journals. UVa has access to two collections: Literature-History-Philosophy and Politics-Law.
- Academic Search Complete Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
- JSTOR: Journal Storage Project Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals from a range of disciplines. Coverage usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
- Project MUSE Searchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies, 1971- BAS lists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews.
- PIO: Periodicals Index Online, 1665- Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals published 1770-1990s. Includes links to full text of articles in Periodicals Archive Online and in humanities and social science titles at JSTOR.
- PAO: Periodicals Archive Online Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s. These journals with links to JSTOR and through Find@UVa to other collections are also indexed in Periodicals Index Online.
- Historical Abstracts, 1954- Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, from over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. Simultaneously search "America: History and Life" database for articles about the US or Canada.
Find News Articles - 找报纸文章
- Factiva
Searchable in Asian scripts. Includes company and business information; articles from newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Search or select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries. - LexisNexis Academic News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers New York Times (1851-2003), Wall Street Journal (1889-1989), Chicago Tribune (1849-1985), Washington Post (1877-1990), Los Angeles Times (1881-1985), etc.
- World News Connection, 1995-
Information from thousands of foreign media sources, including speeches, radio, television, newspapers, periodicals, and books. All material translated into English.
Subject Librarian |
Calvin HsuOther Resources
- Center for Research Libraries CRL acquires newspapers, journals, documents, archives, etc. These resources are made available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.
- Library of Congress Asian Reading Room
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait