What's new?
Find Books
- VIRGO UVa Libraries catalog
- WorldCat Online catalog of books and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide as catalogued by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). ***To display and search in Asian scripts, set "options" to "Unicode."
- MLA International Bibliography, 1926- Lists books plus articles and essays from journals and books on literature, linguistics, and folklore. Before 1956 covered only scholarship published in North America. Also searchable through Literature Resource Center.
- Webcat Plus Search for books and journals held in university library collections throughout Japan. Provides direct links to "Digital Library from the Meiji Era" of the National Diet Library.
Find Journal Articles
- Academic Search Complete
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Also includes reference books such as the World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary, biogr - JSTOR: Journal Storage Project
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. - Project MUSE Searchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies, 1971- BAS lists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews.
- PAO: Periodicals Archive Online, 1770-1990s
Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s. These journals with links to JSTOR and through Find@UVa to other collections are also indexed in Periodicals Index Online. - PIO: Periodicals Index Online, 1665-
Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals published 1770-1990s. Includes links to full text of articles in Periodicals Archive Online and in humanities and social science titles at at JSTOR. - CiNii - NII 論文情報 ナビゲータ "Citation Information by NII" enables searching of information on academic papers published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, or included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.
- Zasshi kiji sakuin - 雑誌記事索引 Index to articles in over 7,000 journals and magazines published in Japan.
Find News Articles
- Factiva
Searchable in Asian scripts. Provides company information, articles from newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of newspapers from many countries. Inlcudes Yomiuri Shimbun, 2002- - LexisNexis Academic News and business information from sources around the world (no CJK scripts); book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers New York Times (1851-2003), Wall Street Journal (1889-1989), Chicago Tribune (1849-1985), Washington Post (1877-1990), Los Angeles Times (1881-1985), etc.
- World News Connection, 1995-
Information from thousands of foreign media sources, including speeches, radio, television, newspapers, periodicals, and books. All material translated into English. - Shinbun Kiji Bunko - 新聞記事文庫 Index to Japanese newspaper articles, 1910-1945. Provided by the University of Kobe Library.
- Mainichi shinbun (shukusatsuban) - 每日新聞 (縮刷版) Mainichi shimbun, small print edition. Alderman Library has 1977-1996. Call number: PN5409 .T63 M347. Factiva includes 2002- online.
Find Statistical Data
Subject Guide |
Calvin HsuOther Resources
- Center for Research Libraries CRL acquires newspapers, journals, documents, archives, etc. These resources are made available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.
- Library of Congress Asian Reading Room
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait