African American titles in microfilm Current print subscriptionsFull-text databasesOverview all UVA U.S. microform holdingsPrint indexesResearch Tools / Finding Aids
Back issues in microfilmCurrent print subscriptionsFull-text databasesResearch Tools / Finding Aids
Back issues in microfilmCurrent print subscriptionsFull-text databasesResearch Tools/Finding Aids
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Newspapers  Tags: newspapers historical newspapers  

Newspaper research resources available UVA
Last update: Nov 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/newspapers  Print Guide  RSS Updates

International Newspapers             Print Page
  
 

Search Newspapers at UVA

 Search for individual newspaper titles in all formats by using Journal Finder.

If you can't find what you're looking for, check the databases linked to this page, or contact us.

 
 

Full-text Databases - International Newspapers

The resources below include coverage of mainly 19th - 21st century newspapers
  • Factiva 
    Full-text of thousands of sources from all over the world, in 22 languages. Coverage back to 1980's, varies by title. Click on "News Pages" link (above main search box) to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries.

  • Facts on File World News Digest  
    Brief summaries of major news stories from 1975 to the present. Good source of obituaries. Part of LexisNexis Academic.

  • International Digital Newspaper Collections
    Scroll down this page from the University of Illinois for links to free resources under More International Digital Newspaper Collections.

  • Latin-American News & Newspapers
    Over 100 contemporary Latin-American news resources, mostly in Spanish, many with archives (that don't go back very far). Scroll down page for links to Spanish language papers in the U.S. From LANIC, the Latin American Network Information Center at the University of Texas at Austin.

  • LexisNexis     select News/World News
    Indexed full-text source covering many foreign papers. Coverage back to about 1980, varies by title. To determine the titles that are covered, click on Sources on black banner at top of any search screen.

  • an-Nahar     1933-1998
    Archive of this Beirut, Lebanon newspaper available only on CD-ROM in Alderman Scholars Lab.

  • 19th Century British Library Newspapers
    Searchable full text and page images of 48 national and regional British newspapers from the collections of the British Library.

  • The Times (London) Digital Archive     1785-1985
    C
    omplete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

  • World News Connection
    Full-text translated and English-language news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. news sources. See their sources list. Continues the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) series.

  • Easy to use menu to find contemporary newspapers from all around the world. Some newspapers are not available free. Use FACTIVA or LexisNexis Academic to get at many of them.
 

Subject Guide

Newspapers
Contact Info:
434 924-3516 or use web form
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait