Tips
Use Google's FastFlip to browse sequentially through bundles of recent news, headlines and popular topics, as well as feeds from individual top publishers.
Featured News Databases
- Federal News Resources
See Federal News Service. See also the FDCH News Service Capitol Report in Lexis/Nexis Academic. - Ethnic Newswatch Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), comprehensive full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic, minority and native press published in the U.S. Coverage varies by title, earliest is back to 1970s.
- Factiva Full-text, thousands of sources from all over the world, in 22 languages. Coverage varies by title, some back to 1980s. Use for Wall St. Journal. Click on News Pages to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries.
- LexisNexis Academic Full-text of hundreds of U.S. and some foreign newspapers. Coverage varies by title, some back to 1980s. Includes full-text of news transcripts and university newspapers (including UVA's Cavalier Daily).
- Newspaper Source Plus Full text of major late 20th century to current American newspapers and some foreign newspapers plus selected stories from other US regional newspapers. Also includes full-text of transcripts for television and radio networ
- ProPublica Not a database, but an online news resource from a non-profit investigative journalism group. Founded by Paul Steiger, former managing editor of the Wall Street Journal. See other investigative journalism links
- Proquest Historical Newspapers Searchable and browseable. New York Times (1851-2003), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1989), the Chicago Tribune (1849-1985), the Washington Post (1877-1990) and Los Times (1881-1985).
- World News Connection Continues Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) series.
Find Newspapers at UVA
-
Search (by date, by state or both) for the titles and call numbers of UVA's historical newspaper collection in microfilm. The microfilm itself is held in Alderman Libary, 3rd floor.
-
Print newspapers received daily at UVA libraries:
-
Alderman
New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Richmond-Times-Dispatch and Daily Progress.
-
Brown
New York Times, Washington Post -
Clemons
New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Richmond-Times-Dispatch and Daily Progress.
-
Darden
New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Washington Times, Richmond-Times-Dispatch and Daily Progress. -
Health Sciences Library
Monday-Friday: New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Richmond-Times-Dispatch and Daily Progress.
Saturday-Sunday: Washington Post, Richmond-Times-Dispatch and Daily Progress.
-
Law
New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Washington Times, Richmond-Times-Dispatch and Daily Progress.
-
Newspapers |
Newspapers
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait