African American titles in microfilm Current print subscriptionsFull-text databasesOverview all UVA U.S. microform holdingsPrint indexesResearch Tools / Finding Aids
Back issues in microfilmCurrent print subscriptionsFull-text databasesResearch Tools / Finding Aids
Back issues in microfilmCurrent print subscriptionsFull-text databasesResearch Tools/Finding Aids
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Newspapers  Tags: newspapers historical newspapers  

Newspaper research resources available UVA
Last update: Nov 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/newspapers  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Print indexes             Print Page
  
 

Print Indexes -US Newspapers

Please note: the following list represents all the print indexes that are available for these titles. To access volumes located in Ivy Annex, use the Request Item feature in the VIRGO title record.

Newspaper Title
Dates Covered in Index & Index Location
Full-text Database
Atlanta Constitution
1971 - 2002

IVY ANNEX
Factiva 1/86 - present
Boston Globe
1983 - 2002

IVY ANNEX
Factiva 1/87 - present
Chicago Tribune
1972 - 2003

IVY ANNEX
Christian Science Monitor
1945 - 2002

IVY ANNEX
Illinois Newspapers
Miscellaneous Illinois Newspapers from the Illinois State Historical Library
Early 19th century - 1930's

Alderman Microforms Guides Section, Call No. Micfilm N-US Ill-9
no fulltext database
Los Angeles Times
1972 - 2002

IVY ANNEX
Factiva
1/85 - present
National Observer (Md.)
1963 -1968

IVY ANNEX
no fulltext database
New Orleans Times Picayune
1972 -1988

IVY ANNEX
Factiva
4/92 - present
New York Daily Tribune (partially indexes The New York Tribune, Micfilm N-US NY-3)
1875 -1906

IVY ANNEX
see online index 1875-1884,1895, from the Library of Congress
New York Times

NY Times Obituary Index

NY Times Personal Names Index

1851 - current.

1858 -1978
1851 -1978
Microforms Guides Area adjacent to the Alderman Third Floor Service Desk
 
Richmond News Leader
 
1920's -1985

see The Freeman File index on microfiche in the Microforms Guides Area adjacent to the Alderman Third Floor Service Desk
no full-text database, but see online index from the Library of Virginia 1940s-1985
Richmond Times Dispatch

 
1920's -1985

see The Freeman File index on microfiche in
 Microforms Guides Area adjacent to the Alderman Third Floor Service Desk
 
Factiva
1/89 - present


See also
online index from the Library of Virginia 1940s-1985
San Francisco Chronicle
1976 - 2003:March

IVY ANNEX
Factiva
1/85 - present
South Carolina Gazette

1732 -1782
Microforms Guides Area adjacent to the Alderman Third Floor Service Desk
no fulltext database
Underground Newspaper Collection
1963 -1985

Please note: The "index" in the Periodicals/Microforms Room is a reel guide only to newspaper titles contained in this microfilm collection. For subject access to articles in this collection, see the Alternative Press Index ,1969 - present, Alderman Reference, AI3.A25
no fulltext database at UVA
Virginia Gazette

1736-1780

Microforms Guides Area adjacent to the Alderman Third Floor Service Desk
no fulltext database
Wall Street Journal

1955 - 2002

Microforms Guides Area adjacent to the Alderman Third Floor Service Desk
Factiva 1979:June 13-- present
Washington Post

1972 - current
Microforms Guides Area adjacent to the Alderman Third Floor Service Desk
Lexis/Nexis
1/77 - present

 

Microforms

Microforms
Contact Info:
Alderman 3rd Floor, 434-924-3516; Need Help? Ask Us!
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait