Full-text Newspapers
Scroll down this page to More U.S. Digital Newspaper Collections for links to freely available US regional newspapers from the University of Illinois.
The following sources include coverage from the 18th century to the present.
Access Newspaper Archive

Collection of historical newspapers. Although it includes almost 4000 titles, some are available for only a few years.
America’s Historical Newspapers 1690-1922
To limit your search to Virginia newspapers, on main search page click on Places of Publication tab; next screen check the Virginia box. 31 titles in nine Virginia cities covered.
To limit your search to Virginia newspapers, on main search page click on Places of Publication tab; next screen check the Virginia box. 31 titles in nine Virginia cities covered.
Chicago Tribune is part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database. Search and read full text of articles.
From the Library of Congress
Digitized newspapers from 1890 to 1910 from the following states: California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virgin
Digitized newspapers from 1890 to 1910 from the following states: California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virgin
Blingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of newspapers and journals of US ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage is mostly post 1980, varies with title.
Thousands of titles in this database. Coverage: late 20th century-current, dates vary by title. Virginia titles include Daily Press, News and Advance, Richmond Times Dispatch, Roanoke Times and Virginian Pilot.
Full-text of hundreds of U.S. and some foreign newspapers. Virginia titles covered: the Richmond Times-Dispatch, Roanoke Times, Virginian Pilot and UVA's Cavalier Daily. Coverage: late 20th century-current, dates vary by title.
Full text of major American newspapers plus selected material from other US regional newspapers. Full-text for over a dozen Virginia newspapers, including the Daily Progress, RIchmond Times- Dispatch and Roanoke Times. Dates covered vary by title.
Facsimile images of newspapers; advertisements and illustrations included. Included are titles from Alexandria, Fredericksburg, Lynchburg, Petersburg, Richmond, Staunton...Limit searches to Virginia newspapers by using Advanced search.
New York Times (1851-2003), Wall St Journal (1889-1989), Chicago Tribune (1849-1985), Washington Post (1877-1990) and Los Angeles Times (1881-1985).
November 1860-December 1865
Searchable text and page images from three newspapers, including the Richmond Enquirer. See also Valley of the Shadow articles from Va. and Pa. newspapers 1859-1870.
Port Royal and Beaufort, SC
The Reflector, an African-American newspaper printed in Charlottesville from 1933-1935,...a source for understanding the lives of Charlotteville's African Americans during the Jim Crow period. From UVA's Virginia Center for Digital History.
Published weekly in Williamsburg, 1736-1780; the news covered all Virginia and included some information for other colonies, Scotland, England etc. Not all the issues survived, but you can browse by date some of those that did.
Provides articles from two Virginia and two Pennsylvania newspapers (1859-1870)
Part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database. Search and read full text of articles 1889-1989. For more recent issues, use Factiva.
Part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database. Search and read full text of articles 1877-1990. For more recent issues, use Factiva.
Subject Guide |
Newspapers
Free Web Sources
For Kidon's agriculture, business, legal, military and religious news, by state, see Themed Pages at bottom of Kidon page.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait