African American titles in microfilm Current print subscriptionsFull-text databasesOverview all UVA U.S. microform holdingsPrint indexesResearch Tools / Finding Aids
Back issues in microfilmCurrent print subscriptionsFull-text databasesResearch Tools / Finding Aids
Back issues in microfilmCurrent print subscriptionsFull-text databasesResearch Tools/Finding Aids
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Newspapers  Tags: newspapers historical newspapers  

Newspaper research resources available UVA
Last update: Nov 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/newspapers  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Research Tools/Finding Aids             Print Page
  
 

Research Tools/ Finding Aids - International Newspapers

NOTE: The ICON database is a good tool for browsing titles of international newspapers (by country, by language, by years) available in microfilm in the U.S.  Once you have a title, you can use WorldCat to find out what holdings dates are available and at which libraries. Or you can go directly to Interlibrary Services to request the desired dates of specific titles you want.


  • International Coalition of Newspapers' ICON database, includes over 6000 titles in the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), and the holdings of five other instiitutions. UVA only may request items from these sources through interlibrary loan. See also digitization projects page from ICON.

  • WorldCat
    A huge bibliographic database, containing millions of records for items of all types -- books, newspapers, videos, microfilm, sound recordings -- owned by libraries all over the world. A good resource for finding out where U.S. newspapers not owned at UVA might be located. Items found in WorldCat may be requested by UVA students and faculty through interlibrary loan.

  • The British Library Catalogue
    Search for over 52,000 newspaper and periodical titles. Covers all UK national daily and Sunday newspapers from 1801 to the present and most UK and Irish provincial newspapers.

  • The Library of Congress has a large collection of US and International newspapers. Use their Ask A Librarian service for questions about their newspaper collections.

  • Willing's Press Guide
    Covers U.K, foreign and international newspapers. Publication, circulation and personnel information, advertising rates, and summary of content included in each entry.
    Alderman Ready Reference Z6956 .E5 W5 2007 (2 vols)

  • Stamm Leitfaden durch Presse und Werbung = Annual directory through press and advertising
    1982-2008.
    Current edition in Alderman Reference . Z6956 .G3 L4

  • Verzeichnis Osterreichischer Zeitungen, 1800-1945: vermehrt durch Bestande auslandischer Zeitungen in osterreichischen Bibliotheken.
    Alderman Stacks Z6956 .A9S34 1993.

  • Waterloo Directory Series of Newspapers and Periodicals, England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales, 1800-1900.
    See call numbers Z6956 .G6 W63, Z6956 .I74 N67 1986, Z 6956 .G6 N66. Located in Alderman Reference.  

  • Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900, 5 vols.
    Covers all subjects in 45 important periodicals published in Great Britain and Ireland. Each periodical has its own introduction. Includes tables of contents and notes on contributors, with bibliographies of their articles and stories. Authorship ascribed to anonymous or pseudononymous contributions. Alderman Reference, Z2005.H6 1966.
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait