Research Tools/ Finding Aids - U. S. Newspapers
Online | Print | Special subjects: Ethnic and Virginia newspapers
- Online Resources
Newspaper Indexes: see the list of print indexes at UVA Library, the full-text U.S. newspaper databases and free resources on the internet.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress maintains one of the most extensive newspaper collections in the world, exceptionally strong in US newspapers, with 9,000 titles covering the past three centuries.
WorldCat
A huge bibliographic database, containing millions of records for items of all types, including newspapers, owned by libraries all over the world. A good resource for finding out where U.S. newspapers not owned at UVA might be located. Items found in WorldCat may be requested by UVA students and faculty through interlibrary loan.
U.S. Newspaper Program
The United States Newspaper Program is a cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the U.S. from the 18th century to the present. Lists of holdings and/or searchable databases of microfilm titles available for most states.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
A consortium of North American universities, colleges and independent research libraries whose resources are made available to member institutions through interlibrary loan.
-
Print Resources
Directories
Bowker's News Media Directory, PN4875.W62 2008 (3v)
Multi-volume set contains directory of major newspapers published in the U.S.: daily, weekly, special interest, ethnic and foreign language. News and photo services. Detailed publication and circulation information. Current edition in Alderman Ready Reference. Back editions in Alderman Stacks.
Rowell's American Newspaper Directory, Z6951.R88
Circulation and publication data on American and Canadian titles. (Alderman has volumes for 1870-1902, with some gaps) Alderman Stacks.
Ayer's Newspaper Directories, Z 6951.A97
Rowell's sucessor. (Alderman has volumes for 1910-1986, with some gaps).
Alderman Stacks.
Other Print Finding Aids
African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography
Z6944 .N39 A37 1998, Alderman Library Reference.
Alternative Press Index, AI3 .A25
Alderman Library Reference: v.1-5 (1969-1973) and v.35-current (2003-); Alderman Stacks: v.6-34 (1974-2002). Note: use this resource as a subject index for the microfilm set Underground Newspapers (1963-1985), Micfilm N-US 1, located in Alderman 3 East. The set covers over 550 radical newspapers from the United States and some foreign countries.
History and Annotated Bibliography of American Religious Periodicals and Newspapers Established from 1730 through 1830, PN 4888 .R4 A43 1994 (2v), Alderman Stacks
History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 (2v), Z6951 .B86 1947
Lists over 2000 newspapers, including dates of publication, title changes, editors, frequency, and other historical notes. (1976 edition at Law Library), Alderman Stacks and Alderman Reference.
American Journalism; a History of Newspapers in the United States through 250 years, 1690-1940, PN4855 M63 1962
Alderman and Clemons Stacks.
-
Ethnic Newspapers
CRL Ethnic Press Database
The Center holds over 1000 newspaper titles published in the U.S. from the mid 1800s to the present, primarily for specific ethnic groups.
Dziennik Zwiazkowy (1908-1917)
Established in 1908 by the Polish National Alliance, Dziennik Zwiazkowy continues to be published today as the Polish Daily News.
Ethnic Newswatch
Full-text U.S. ethnic newspapers published from about 1980 and forward.
Immigration History Research Center
List of ethnic periodicals.
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project (composed of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-current).
See note on immigrant and ethnic newspapers as a valuable source for women's history from the Library of Congress. -
Cavalier Daily Subject Index (1890's-1994), for UVA's student newspaper, is located in back of Alderman Reference Room in wooden card
Virginia Newspapers 1821-1935; a Bibliography with Historical Introduction and Notes,
Z6952 .V8 C24
Also known as "Cappon". The standard reference work on this subject. Lists newspapers published in Virginia for this period by city; includes publication dates and names of editors. Alderman Reference, Government Information Desk and Special Collections.
The Freeman File
An index to the Richmond Times Dispatch and the Richmond New Leader (1920s-1985). In microfiche, in black binder, located in the Microforms Guides area adjacent to the Government Information service desk, 3rd floor Alderman Library.
Local History File (approx. 1940 through 1990)
Collected information (newspaper clippings, pamphlets, etc.) filed alphabetically by subject in folders. This resource may serve as a partial index to the Daily Progress and other local newspapers. Covers Charlottesville and Albemarle County history and life (only newsworthy obituaries are included.) Access: Ask at the Alderman Information Desk.
Newspapers in Virginia Database
Search this database for newspapers held in major Virginia institutions. This resource is from the Virginia Newspaper Project.
The Virginia Gazette 1736-1780 (see also online index)
Located in Microforms Guides Area adjacent to the Alderman Third Floor Service Desk.
Indexes and catalogs listed under Collection Guides on the Library of Virginia (LVa) Newspapers and Periodicals page.
Microforms |
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait