African American titles in microfilm Current print subscriptionsFull-text databasesOverview all UVA U.S. microform holdingsPrint indexesResearch Tools / Finding Aids
Back issues in microfilmCurrent print subscriptionsFull-text databasesResearch Tools / Finding Aids
Back issues in microfilmCurrent print subscriptionsFull-text databasesResearch Tools/Finding Aids
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Newspapers  Tags: newspapers historical newspapers  

Newspaper research resources available UVA
Last update: Nov 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/newspapers  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Research Tools / Finding Aids             Print Page
  
 

Research Tools/ Finding Aids - Va. Newspapers

Please Note:

There are few indexes to Virginia newspapers. Indexed full-text is provided for Virginia newspapers in the following databases (see also Indexes and catalogs listed under Collection Guides on the Library of Virginia (LVa) Newspapers and Periodicals page):

·     For a fairly small number of Virginia newspapers, late 20th century-present coverage can be found in Lexis/NexisFactiva and Newspaper Source Plus (includes last few years of the Daily Progress.)
The only mid-20th century Virginia newspaper index we have is the Freeman File (see listing below), a microfiche index to the Richmond Times Dispatch (1920s-1985).

·     19th century coverage may be found in America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922; Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (Richmond Enquirer only); 19th Century U.S. Newspapers

·     Other finding aids available at Alderman Library:  

Cavalier Daily Subject Index (1890's-1994)
Indexes UVA's student newspaper. Located in back of Alderman Reference Room in wooden card catalog.
See also
Lexis/Nexis Academic, which provides indexing and full-text of the Cavalier Daily back to 1997.

The Freeman File
An index to the Richmond Times Dispatch and the Richmond New Leader (1920s-1985). In microfiche, in black binder, located in the Microforms Guides area adjacent to the Government Information service desk, 3rd floor Alderman Library. 

Local History File (approx. 1940 through 1990)
Access: Ask at the Alderman Information Desk.
Collected information (newspaper clippings, pamphlets, etc.) filed alphabetically
by subject in folders. This resource may serve as a partial index to the Daily Progress and other local newspapers. Covers Charlottesville and Albemarle County history and life. NOTE: only newsworthy obituaries are included.

Newspapers in Virginia Database
Search this database for newspapers held in major Virginia institutions. This resource is from the Virginia Newspaper Project.

The Virginia Gazette 1736-1780
(see also
online index)
Located in Microforms Guides Area adjacent to the Alderman Third Floor Service Desk.

Virginia Newspapers 1821-1935; a Bibliography with Historical Introduction and Notes
Also known as "Cappon". The standard reference work on this subject. Lists newspapers published in Virginia for this period by city; includes publication dates and names of editors. Alderman Reference, Government Information Desk and Special Collections, Z6952 .V8 C24. 

WorldCat
A huge bibliographic database, containing millions of records for items of all types, including newspapers, owned by libraries all over the world. A good resource for finding out where U.S. newspapers not owned at UVA might be located. Items found in WorldCat may be requested by UVA students and faculty through interlibrary loan

 

Newspapers

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait