Blogs and Other Web Resources
- Blog Search Engines & Directories
Blogscope
From the University of Toronto. "... is currently tracking over 37.37 million blogs with 866.81 million posts. BlogScope can assist the user in discovering interesting information from these millions of blogs via a set of numerous unique features including popularity curves, identification of information bursts, related terms, and geographical search."
Technorati
Another blog search engine / directory.
From the U.S. Government
Dozens of blogs from US agencies. - Google Newspapers
Links include: Alternative, Christian, Disabled, GLBT, International and Military. - ProPublica
A non-profit group dedicated to investigative journalism. Founded by Paul Steiger, former managing editor of the Wall Street Journal. - Street Librarian's Independent and Non-corporate Media
Organizations, directories, review sources, notable presses, and more. Who Owns What (Columbia Journalism Review's "online guide to what major media companies own) is also linked here. From former librarian Chris Dodge. For more alternative news see alternet.org.\ -
I.F. Stone Weekly
1953-1971. This publication was number 16 on the The Top 100 Works of Journalism In the United States in the 20th Century -
Voice of America
The Voice of America, which first went on the air in 1942, is a multimedia international broadcasting service funded by the U.S. Government. - Yahoo's News and Media Links
Many resources with a by-subject option. - Newsreels and TV News Archives
- British Pathe Newsreel Database (1896-1970)
Previews free; downloads for a fee.
British Universities Newsreel Database (BUND) (1910-1983)
Note: The BUND is a catalogue only of what British newsreels and cinemagazines were produced. - Los Angeles Television News Archive
A catalogue from the University of Southern California. - Television News Archive
From Vanderbilt University. National networks news broadcasts from 1968 forward ..."world's most extensive and complete archive of television news." - Universal Newsreels (1929-1967)
See and hear newsreels made by Universal City Studios. Search or browse by keyword/subject. - University of South Carolina Newsfilm Library
Covers first half of 20th century. A few brief videos are provided, e.g., a 1924 election day in Berlin, a 1966 speech by Martin Luther King, a 1930 reunion of Confederate soldiers.
- British Pathe Newsreel Database (1896-1970)
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait