Accounts
The University of Virginia has many accounts that you'll want to have. Here are a few which will be important for research and library use.
- Library account - As a U.Va. student or faculty member you will automatically get a Library account. Your U.Va. ID is your library ID for in-person checkouts. All online transactions use your computing (email) ID. Use this account to renew books, view titles of books you have checked out, and see a list of items you have on Hold status.
Account - RefWorks and RefShare are software applications that enable you to...
- Download citations from databases and put them into a personal RefWorks research database
- Format bibliographies and citations automatically in over 400 styles including APA, MLA, etc.
- Use in conjunction with WORD to write papers, dissertations, etc.
- Access your RefWorks account from any computer, anywhere
- Create a database and share it with colleagues around the world
Once you set up a RefWorks account (free for all UVa students and faculty if you use your UVa email address, for example, tj2u@virginia.edu), you can save citations for articles, books, dissertations, etc. into RefWorks. If the citations in your RefWorks account have a
button, you can click it and navigate to the journal article's full text. See our Refworks page for more information.- Download citations from databases and put them into a personal RefWorks research database
- InterLibrary Services (ILS) Account - If we don't have it, we can get it! Use the Library's Interlibrary Loan service to obtain journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and other materials not available at any of the U.Va. Libraries. It's fast and it's free for U.Va. affiliates. To set up an account, click on button, FIRST TIME USERS (on the right side of the page) and fill out the form.
- Eservices Account - All U.Va. faculty and students get this account automatically. If you want to change the password that was automatically generated and given to you or if you have forgotten the password, go to the Lost Passwords/Changing Passwords web site. Use this account to login to public computers on-Grounds.
- UVaAnywhere VPN or Proxy Accounts - If you are using your laptop or computer off-Grounds or on-Grounds, authenticate by using the UVaAnywhere VPN or Proxy and you will have full access to U.Va. resources such as full text journal articles, ebooks, library databases, and more. UVaAnywhere is reliable, fast access with none of the database-specific problems reported with proxy. Proxy is easier to set up - just a bit of configuration of the browser one will use to access the resources. More information is provided on the web site to help you decide which method is best for you. When you are off-Grounds, connecting will look like this. If you need help setting up your laptop for this account, click here.
- Home Directory Account - All U.Va. faculty and students get this account automatically. When you want to save a document, it is safest to save in to your free storage space on the home directory drive. If you are on-Grounds and login to a public computer using NetBadge, you can save any document to the Home Directory by selecting the Home Directory drive as opposed to, for example, the c:\ drive or your flash drive. ITC backs up this service every 2 hours and you can retrieve any items you accidently delete. If you are using your own laptop, you can download the Home Directory software and you will then be able to save your documents to the Home Directory.
- Wireless Account - Want to use your laptop on-Grounds? Get a wireless account. You can also set up your laptop so you can print to the public printers on-Grounds. To pay for printing on-Grounds using the public printers, you will need to pay using a Cavalier Advantage account. Cavalier Advantage is an account on your student, faculty, or staff ID card. The account is activated once funds have been deposited on your University I.D. card. You can deposit money into your Cavalier Advantage account in a variety of ways including online, phone, or in person. If you need help setting up your laptop for this account, click here.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait