Best Database Choices for Politics Databases
Journal Databases & Other Sources
- Academic Search Complete

Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. - AccessUN - 1944 to present Locate documents in the United Nations Official Documents System on microfiche in Alderman's Government Information Resources department. Includes draft resolutions, meeting records, and the UN Treaty Series ciations. Some of the documents are online.
- British Parliamentary Papers This guide is meant for those beginning research in British Parliamentary Papers. It focuses on Alderman Library's 19th and 20th century holdings and lists indexes and finding aids for Sessional papers, Journals, and Debates.
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGO's, conference proceedings, current tables of contents and article abstracts from selected journals, and full-text of selected books. - Congressional Record
Searchable full text access to the Congressional Record and its predecessors (1789-present). Also includes American State Papers (1789-1838) and Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1789). - CQ Press Political Reference Suite

Congressional Quarterly publications on the U.S. government (click on i button for titles covered). Emphasis is on recent information, but US document coverage begins in 1972 and legislative histories in 1945. - CQ Weekly 1983-present
In depth coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. - Declassified Documents Reference System Searchable collection of declassified U.S. documents, from the 1940’s to the 1970’s, taken from the CIA, FBI, presidential libraries, etc. Covers the Cold War, the Vietnam era, the civil rights movement, and other events.
- Digital National Security Archive Searchable declassified documents used in foreign policy decision-making by the U.S. government since the 1940’s. The documents have been gathered through the Freedom of Information Act.
- Dissertations & Theses: Full Text -1861-present Full text (PDF) of most dissertations from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on at US and some other universities. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
- Fuente Academica Scholarly journal articles from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. Covers most subjects, but special emphasis on economics, history, law, philosophy, public administration, religion, and sociology.
- Historical Statistics of the United States
Quantitative historical data covering American population, work and welfare, economic structure, governance, and international relations from colonial times to the present. - Hotline 1985-present
Expert daily analysis of the American political scene. - JSTOR Journal Storage Project 1985-present

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. - LexisNexis Academic
News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily. - LexisNexis Congressional 1789-present

Full-text information by and about the U.S. Congress including publications, legislative histories of laws, biographical information on members, and testimony from congressional hearings. - Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 Over 240,000 Supreme Court documents from the final years of John Marshall through the early years of Warren Burger.
- PAIS Archive 1915-1976
These older years of PAIS contain only English-language articles. - PAIS International 1915-present

International database covering public and social policy. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, and reports from organizations and abstracts from 1985. Newer book entries include tables of contents. - Web of Knowledege / Web of Science 1981-present

Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately. - World News Connection 1995-present

Information from thousands of foreign media sources, including speeches, radio, television, newspapers, periodicals, and books. Includes unclassified military, political, environmental, sociological, scientific and technical data.
Polls and Public Opinion Surveys
- iPOLL iPOLL contains nearly a half-million questions from surveys conducted since 1935 by academic, commercial, and media survey organizations, including CNN, Gallup, AP, the Wall Street Journal, and many others.
- Pollster.com A variety of recent national polls - political, economic, social - from NationalJournal.com
- Polling the Nations Text of and responses to over 35,000 survey questions from over 14,000 polls taken in the US and 80 other countries since 1986.
- Best Databases for Surveys and Polls A guide that includes additional sources for polls and opinion surveys.
Statistics and Data
- ICPSR The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Users may view documentation, download raw data, and search a bibliography of data-related literature.
- Lexis Nexis Statistical Statistical information of all kinds, current and historical, US and international.
- NationMaster A large central data source that allows you to generate maps and graphs to compare nations. Data compiled from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
- World Development Indicators World Bank database provides direct access to more than 700 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to the present, where data are available.
- IMF International Financial Statistics Thousands of time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. Includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages; exchange rate series; major Fund accounts series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS World Tables.
- UNdata More than 450 statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics.
Microforms Collections
These subject lists are not comprehensive. If you do not find a title you are looking for check VIRGO or consult library staff.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait