Higher EducationComparative Education
This is the "Education: Subject Research Guide" page of the "Education: A Library Research Guide Archived 2/19/2014" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education: A Library Research Guide Archived 2/19/2014  

Last Updated: Feb 19, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/educationarchived Print Guide Email Alerts

Education: Subject Research Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Top Education Databases: Find Journal Articles

Journal Finder

 

  • Journal Finder
    To determine whether UVa provides a journal full text, enter the title of the journal in the Journal Finder's 2nd search box.

    If it is not available full text, enter the title of the journal in the Journal Finder’s 1st search box to determine if it is available in print at one of the UVa Libraries.

    If you are taking a class on-Grounds and it is available in print, you will need to go to the designated UVa library to get the journal.

    If you enrolled in the Curry off-Grounds program and the article is not available full text, you do not need to determine if it is in print at one of the UVa Libraries. Instead, submit an interlibrary loan request..

Dissertations

If you need a copy of a dissertation that is not available online full text, you can use the Library's free Interlibrary Loan Service to try and obtain a copy.

In addition to the databases below, you can also locate dissertations that are distributed as open access dissertations by searching Google using the the title, author. or keyword although identifying a dissertation from the retrieved results is a bit challenging due to the lack of meta tagging.

Videos

Children's Literature

Handbooks

View the CLIC's collection of more than 300 handbooks.

Handbooks are a great resource for locating best practices, research theories, names of authors, background material, overviews of topics, and good keyword terminology to use when you search databases for journal articles and other materials to inform and support your research.

The handbooks are arranged by shelved by call number and arelocated to the light of the door as you enter the CLIC. You cannot check out handbooks, however you can scan (free scanning if you use the digital scanner in the CLIC's computer lab) or photocopy them for 8 cents per page using the public printer in the CLIC and your Cavalier debit card

      

    Test Instruments

    Associations

    Below is a sample of association related to Education. Associations web sites are a great resource for locating the names of their prestigious journals and magazines, white papers, position papers, conference information, standards of learning, statistics, journal author instructions, and more.

    Peer Reviewed Journals in Secondary Education

    Below is a sampling of journal titles related to Secondary Education. Here is a link to additional education guides such as ones specifically for reading and gifted.

    Practitioner Journals

    Practitioner journals are journals that are aimed at a particular professional market, in this case the classroom teacher. 

    They differ from academic journals in that:

    • they are aimed at a professional rather than at an academic market
    • there is proportionally more emphasis on practical implications and less on rigorous research methodology
    • articles are often selected by the editor, and do not have to go through a process of peer review.

    APA Style

    You will need to write your research paper using a consistent bibliographic style.  Curry students usually are assigned to use APA style. However, other styles are also available.

    You can learn to use RefWorks citation software by contacting a CLIC librarian at 434-924-7040. RefWorks automatically generates, for example, APA formatted citations. You can also elect to write the citations in the style you have been assigned to use, In either case, the links below should prove useful.

     

    Annotated Bibliographies

    Questions? Monday - Friday 8am-5pm
    Ask Your Curry Librarians

    Need help finding information for a research project or have questions about borrowing library books?  Contact us.  We are happy to help with any questions about research or library services.

    CALL: Kay Buchanan 434-982-2664
    CALL: Carole Lohman 434-924-7040
    EMAIL: Email the Curry Librarians
    SKYPE: Contact the CLIC Librarians to schedule a date and time.

    Questions? Evenings and Weekends
    Ask a U.Va. Librarian

    ITS Technology Help Desk: Available 24/7

    Library Services

     

    Please give us suggestions to improve this guide!

    Please give us suggestions to improve this guide!

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:



    UVa Library     |     UVa Library MOBILE    |    Off Grounds Access     |     ITC Help Desk     |     Ask a Librarian

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip