Contents
- Recent Articles and Books
- Older Articles and Books
- Specialized Bibliographies
- Dissertations
- Biographical Information
Look for
in BDSL, MLA, PIO, and other indexes. Clicking on the button will tell you if UVa has an online version of the article or let you look the journal up in Virgo. If you're off Grounds, you'll need a proxy connection to use these indexes or view articles.
Find Recent Articles and Books About ....
Use both the first two sources. BDSL usually has more European research and gets it faster; the MLA Bibliography will usually have more American research and gets it faster. MLA also will cover more articles on German topics from journals in comparative and general literature. For the very most recent articles from (mostly) English language journals, try Humanities International Complete and Web of Knowledge, which are updated daily.
- BDSL Online - Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft The most comprehensive listing of books and articles about German literature and language.
- MLA International Bibliography Articles, books, and essays on literature, linguistics, and folklore. Until 1956 had only scholarship published in the US. Also in Lit. Resource Center
- Germanistik Alderman Reference Z2235.A2G4
Quarterly. Much slower then the online indexes, but has brief reviews or synopses for most books. Last ten years in Reference. Older volumes in the stacks. - Perlentaucher Summaries of Feuilleton pages and book reviews from major newspapers. Searchable index of and links to book reviews from major German newspapers. For more search options, choose "Suche" on the menu bar.
Find Older Articles and Books About ....
- Periodicals Index Online Search for articles and book reviews in over 5000 journals, including many in German, published from 1665 to the 1990s. Includes titles in Periodicals Archive Online and JSTOR, though they offer full-text searching.
- Schmidt, Heiner. Quellenlexikon zur deutschen Literaturgechichte / Bibliography of Studies on German Literary History: 1945-1990 Alderman Reference Z2231.S352 1994
35 volumes, alphabetical by author and topic. - JSTOR Journal Storage Project Older issues of scholarly journals, from the start to 3-5 years ago. Use Subject Guides to find newer articles. Periodicals Archive Online has 400 similar journals.
- PAO: Periodicals Archive Online Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s. These journals with links to JSTOR and through Find@UVa to other collections are also indexed in Periodicals Index Online.
Specialized Bibliographies
- Literature Resource Center MLA Bibliography and The Dictionary of Literary Biography and other biographical and critical works about authors, plus journal articles and book chapters on literary works and topics. Primarily literature in English, but also much on world literatature.
- Ariadne Lists articles about women from journals and collections of essays.
- Brinker-Gabler, Gisela, et al. Lexikon deutschsprachiger Schriftstellerinnen 1800-1945 Alderman Reference PT167.B75 1986
Brief biographies, often with picture, and bibliographies of primary and secondary works. - Frederiksen, Elke, ed. Women Writers of Germany, Austria, and Switzerland, an Annotated Bio-bibliographical Guide Alderman Reference Z2233.5.W6W66 1989
- Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur: KLG Alderman Reference Z2230.K7
Looseleaf format with occasional updates. Extensive
bibliographies of primary and secondary material. Inhalt=List of included authors. - Internationale Bibliographie zur deutschen Klassik, 1750-1850 Alderman Z2233.I6 An annual bibliography.
Dissertations
- Dissertations & Theses: Full Text (1861-present) Full text (PDF) of most dissertations from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on at US and some other universities. Abstracts included after July, 1980
- dissonline.de The Deutsche Nationalbibliothek accepts digital versions of dissertations and makes them freely available on the Internet. Use DART Europe E-Theses Portal to search other European collections.
- Center for Research Libraries One of the world's largest collections of foreign dissertations with many Habilitationsschriften and Programmschriften. If they don't have a dissertation, they will try to get a copy. Many titles are now available online for UVa users.
Biographical Information
- Killy Literaturlexikon. Autoren und Werke des deutschsprachigen Kulturraums Encyclopedia of German literature describing authors and works from the earliest times to the present. In progress - volumes are added as they appear.
- Literature Resource Center Includes the MLA International Bibliography, the lengthy critical essays with bibliographies from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, biographical/bibliographical data from Contemporary Authors, and other information.
- Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur: KLG Alderman Reference Z2230.K7 Looseleaf format with occasional updates. Extensive bibliographies of primary and secondary material. Inhalt=List of included authors.
- Kürschners Deutscher Literatur-Kalender Z2230.K92 Current and cumulations for deceased authors (Nekrolog) in Alderman Reference; older years in stacks and at Micfilm;S11-33 (Jge. 1-22,1879-1925). Brief biographies and lists of works. Very useful for minor authors.
Librarian for German
James Campbell
Digital Access Librarian
& Librarian for German
513 Alderman Library
434-924-4985 | E-mail me
Reserves & UVaCollab
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait