Texts on the Web
This searches some of the larger collections of German texts on the Web:
- Zeno.org The largest collection of German texts on the Web. Literature, philosophy, history, 19th century encyclopedias.
- Projekt Gutenberg Quality of texts is very variable - some are abridged - but a very large collection and useful for for finding things.
- ALO-Austrian Literature Online Austrian literature, including journals, usually in reliable editions.
- Sophie "A digital library of works by German-speaking women."
- Ariadne - Dukumente Online Literature by women and documents on women's history.
- German Texts from the Library's Electronic Text Center Many are available only for UVa and are not included in other Web collections. Some other German works (e.g., editions of Brecht, Goethe, and Kafka) are listed in Virgo.
Books in Other Libraries
- OCLC WorldCat Database listing books, print and online, journals, videos and other things libraries have. Covers most North American libraries and some libraries in Europe. Not all libraries have put in their older titles and the National Union Catalogue (Alderman -2nd Floor - Z881.A1U518 1968) can still be useful.
- Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog (KVK) Search at the same time the various German regional catalogs and the union catalogs of other European countries.
About Titles and Editions
Wilpert, Gero von. Erstausgaben deutscher Dichtung
Alderman Reference Z2231.W74 1992
Goedeke, Karl. Goedekes Grundriss zur Geschichte der deutschen Dichtung
Alderman Reference Z2231.G7 Use the Index (Ref Z2231.G74) and Hansel's Literaturrecherche für Germanisten (Ref Z2235.A2H24 2003) to find things in the various editions.
Brinker-Gabler, Gisela, et al. Lexikon deutschsprachiger Schriftstellerinnen 1800-1945
Alderman Reference PT167.B75 1986 Brief biographies, often with picture, and bibliographies of primary and secondary works.
Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur: KLG
Alderman Reference Z2230.K7 Inhalt = List of included authors. Looseleaf format with occasional updates. Lists not only books, but also their magazine and newspaper articles.
Verzeichnis der im deutschen Sprachbereich erschienenen Drucke des XVI Jahrhunderts: VD16
Alderman Z1014.V47 1883. Use the list of microform collections of early printed books to find titles not listed in VIRGO.
Bircher, Martin. Deutsche Drucke des Barock 1600-1720 in der Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel
Alderman Z2222.W64 1972. Use the list of microform collections of early printed books to find titles not listed in VIRGO.
Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprachigen Schrifttums (GV)
List of books published in the German-speaking countries. 1700-1910 - Alderman Reference Z2221.G46. 1911-1965 - Alderman Microform Room microfiche 1399
Deutsches Titelbuch, ein Hilfsmittel zum Nachweis von Verfassern deutscher Literaturwerke
Alderman Reference Z2231.D4 1965
Dühmert, Anneliese. Von wem ist das Gedicht
Alderman Reference PT1188.D8
Manuscripts and Papers
- Kalliope: Verbundkatalog für Nachlässe und Autographen Search for the papers of authors in over 100 German libraries and archives.
- Malvine Has fewer search options than Kalliope, but adds the Marbach Literaturarchiv and collections in several other European countries.
- Dichterhandschriften des Poetischen Realismus: Ortsverzeichnis Browse by author's name or by archive.
- Mommsen, Wolfgang A. Die Nachlässe in den deutschen Archiven Alderman Reference Z6616.A2M6 (1971-1983)
- Denecke, Ludwig. Die Nachlässe in den Bibliotheken der Bundesrepublik Deutschland Alderman Reference Z6620.G3D4 1981
Librarian for German
James Campbell
Digital Access Librarian
& Librarian for German
513 Alderman Library
434-924-4985 | E-mail me
Reserves & UVaCollab
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait