Find Books and Recordings
What books and recordings do we and other libraries own?
- U.Va. Library Catalog: VIRGO
- WorldCat Use this catalog to search thousands of libraries worldwide.
Terminology
Search for Jewish music resources by combining keyword searches in VIRGO, subscription databases and Google Scholar. Some keywords to try:
Variations: Jews, Jewish, Judaic, Judaism, Jewry
Related Terms: Israeli, Yiddish, Ladino, Hebrew, Yemenite, Sephardic, Ashkenazic, Palestinian, Middle Eastern
Narrower Terms: nusach, masoretic chants, chazan, synagogue, avodat hakodesh, klezmer, kol nidrei, Koenigsberg tradition
Broader Terms: liturgical music, synagogues, Yiddish theater, Jewish culture, cantillation, manuscripts, Hebrew art song, chants (Jewish), folk song (Jewish), klezmer, Jewish musicians, zemirot, passover songs, Songs Hebrew, Songs Yiddish, Music in the Bible, Music in Synagogues, Psalms
Places to look in the collection
Browse the following call-number ranges for ideas on your topic.
All non-reference books and scores are located on the lower floor of the Music Library.
If you are researching a historical topic, don’t forget older books held at Ivy Stacks!
Collections of printed Jewish music:
M 1850–1853
Books about Jewish music, its history and criticism:
ML 166 (Ancient, Biblical, historical)
ML 3195 (Sacred music)
ML 3776 (Non-sacred music)
Reference Materials
Print reference (Music Library main floor)
-
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. ML 100 .G16 1998 especially vol. 6: The Middle East.
-
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed. ML 100 .N48 2001
This set of resources is considered a standard encyclopedia of scholarly research in music, primarily for classical and jazz. They contain articles about instruments, styles, composers and performers, with extensive bibliographies and discographies. Also searchable online at Oxford Music Online. -
International Who’s Who in Music. ML106 .G7 W443. Vol. 2: Popular. Contains information about living musicians (education background, associations, performances, specialties, and contact or management information).
-
Concise Encyclopedia of Jewish Music (1975). ML106 .J49 N84
-
The Study of Jewish Music: A Bibliographical Guide (Adler). ML 128 .J4 A35 1995 and others nearby
Find Articles about Jewish Music
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature 1967-present Broad international coverage indexing journals, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, Festschriften, and more covering all areas of music.
- International Index to Music Periodicals 1874-present Indexes scholarly and popular music publications with abstracts and some full text.
- JSTOR Journal Storage Project 56 music journals are available in full-text through JSTOR. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
- Project MUSE Searchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals Though not online, this is a great author and subject index to selected American and Anglo-Jewish journals of general and scholarly Jewish interest. Most recent volumes of the index are available in the Alderman Reference area, call number: Z6367 .I5.
Listen to music online
- Contemporary World Music Listen to reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
- DRAM the Database of Recorded American Music, allows you to search liner notes for keywords. Try searching "jewish" or "israel."
- Smithsonian Global Sound contains music from around the world, much of it in the field-recording genre. The site allows a wide range of searching options, for instance: cultural group (Jewish, Jewish-American), language (Hebrew, Yiddish), ensemble (Klezmatics).
Music in the News: Historical and Current
Check newspapers and magazines for performance reviews.
Subject Guide |
Winston BarhamMusic Library
Old Cabell Hall
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Hymnology, Classical Latin & Greek
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait